Just a Bit of Social Networking

I’ve removed my Blogloving account, I’m not really the type for it.

I find that ‘The Daily Post‘ is a treasure chest of information for blogging and networking themes. I’m posting this today mostly to claim my blog on Blogloving, and also for a bit of chit-chat. Edit: I’ve deleted the account. By now the WP reader gives me all I need.

Scribbler_1I’ve read many blogs and news pages over the years and happily collected and read them with the Google Reader. And then, out of the blue (with an announcement well in advance, to be fair), Google took it away. So, what to do, which news aggregator to use? There were many that jumped on the wagon when Google made the announcement. I tried quite a few, because I wanted the reader to be clean and simple. The one that turned out to be easy to use, reliable, available on all platforms including mobiles, and which made it easy to import the list of news and blogs exported from Google was Feedly.

Feedly offers a free and a premium version, the free version works very well and I like it a lot. I will still use Feedly for reading news and magazines that don’t create an income from page hits. However, I also read private blogs and comics and other art-related pages from people who do generate an income through ads on their sites, and through page hits, and they lose that when I read their content through Feedly.

Bloglovin, apparently, only organises the sites, and when you want to read the content, you go directly to their pages, but still keeping the Bloglovin frame to help you navigate. This sounds very good and I want to try that out. And since I’m at it, why not claim my blog for that platform, too. So that’s what I’m doing here.

I hope you aren’t bored too much, dear readers. Do you like chatting about tools? What do you use? Do you read your news with an aggregator, through the WordPress reader, or how do you do it? How do you find people?

And no, I’m not being paid for this post. In that sense: Happy networking!

crabspider2

6 thoughts on “Just a Bit of Social Networking

  1. Your post is very interesting to me because I’m just now trying to understand these social media tools better, including Bloglovin. Thank you for sharing your knowledge! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. You know I’m probably one of the most ignorant bloggers in blogoverse. I don’t take advantage of anything, nor do I read much about how to improve traffic. I continually beat my fingers under the delusion, “…if you build it, they will come…” I should really start looking into these helpful things you so deftly posted about.
    Thank you for sharing this advice…it’s much appreciated and a helpful reminder to dummies like me.
    AnnMarie πŸ™‚
    Happy sunday

    Like

    1. Thank you! You’re not a dummy, you don’t really need to push your blog, with that wonderful art of yours, people will and do come. I, on the other hand, still struggle between wanting to ‘providing content’ and just journaling. I work with computers and have a strong interest in most things web-related and so I try things. The bloglovin tool is new to me, and by now I’ve also heard some negative things, so I’ll watch different options and compare them — and eventually post about it.
      I’m reading all kind of writing and publishing blogs because, hopefully, I get the ideas that run wild in my head tamed into a story or two. On these sites, there are all kinds of advice how to increase traffic and other useful tips. I could make a write-up of this sometimes soon, if you think this is helpful. I wanted to write something similar for the ‘writing tools’ part anyway. I think many of these things apply to art as well.

      Like

      1. Well you’re very kind to say that – thank you.
        And yes, it is helpful reading info that’s been boiled down to simplified language and real speak – a story format even better. I gave up long ago trying to figure things out. I set my mind to focusing on art and a bit of text to go with it. I would like to read when different tools are compared by someone who has actually experimented with them. So thank you. I for one will be reading your blog often.
        Have a great week.
        AnnMarie πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

