Blogging 101: Who I am and Why I’m here.

Here I am, blogging. I wanted to do that for some time. But what does a person talk about who doesn’t really have all that much to say? If I had artistic talents, were a good cook, invented things, were a good crafter,blog had a turbulent family life, had a sense for the absurd… perhaps then I’d think I have something to contribute “to the world”. As it is, I have none of these things. The world gets along just fine without my contributions. Why am I here, then?

I’m not sure. Maybe Blogging 101 helps me to find out. I have a theme, I have a plan, I started the blog… but why would people read it? Maybe answering the following questions, the first prompt from Blogging 101, can help with the answer.

1. Why are you blogging publicly, rather than keeping a personal journal?

I’m not really interested in keeping a personal journal. In my youth I tried that, but I never kept up and empty diaries that start out with a few description of boring days and then remain empty aren’t really all that exciting. I got used to exchange thoughts online, though. I’ve been on mailing lists, discussion forums, fan sites for books, movies, tv series… and most of the time I’ve been active in discussions. So maybe I just like to chat about this and that, and want someone who has similar ideas or interests to chat with me. This is not always easy in the analog life. So that would be the answer: I’m blogging publicly, because I want to talk to like-minded people.

2. What topics do you think you’ll write about?

First and foremost, I will write about the many online courses I’m taking. There is always something new going on, and sharing my experience with these courses may be interesting to people who are also interested in online learning. Apart from that, I plan to write about writing, my struggles to write original stories. There will be some talk about my pets, my garden and other tiny tidbits from my life. And there will be some talk about social networking, blogging and writing tools. I don’t know everything there is about these tools, but over the years, I tried out a lot of tools, and learned several useful things. Some of my readers may get something out of this. On occasion, patient readers will be tortured with short stories or other pieces of writing.

3. Who would you love to connect with via your blog?

With anyone who finds the blog interesting enough to read it.

4. If you blog successfully throughout the next year, what would you hope to have accomplished?

First and foremost to get into the habit of writing something every day, of improving my skills in English and in writing. Both needs practice and writing a blog provides practice.

Now, if I were patient enough to let each post simmer, then edit carefully and post after I’m happy with the result — I’d never post anything. I hope to get better though.

Be warned, dear reader, Blogging 101 has just started and I plan to go through with it. There will be many posts in the near future.

2 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Who I am and Why I’m here.

Leave a Reply

