Blogging 101: Be a Good Neighbour

Today’s assignment: leave comments on at least four blogs that you’ve never commented on before.

Normally I’m rather shy. I’m not shy in following you, but sometimes I just can’t get my courage up to post. But if I do, I sometimes don’t shut up again (as some of you may have noticed). In any case, I used the assignment to comment on a few blogs I already liked but never talked to. So please don’t be too surprised. 🙂

And, if anyone looks at this blog because of the assignment, let me give you a pretty post as welcome.

In summer, when flowers bloom, insects hum, mosquitoes bite and trees gently sway in the wind; when the grass is green, the air is fragrant — and sometimes stinky stagnant — the long, long days, the short, warm nights make life seem so easy. Summer is endless, one day moves into the next: without effort.

Then comes a storm, and when it ends, the air is cold, and won’t get warm again. And suddenly you realize that fall is here. Fall like falling leaves. Autumn, the drying-up season. Ripe apples, too bountiful to eat them all, so neighbours and friends, year after year, will have to accept the boxes full of fruit with good grace, whether they want them or not. Then there will be pies in return; these are always honestly appreciated, although my waistline may not agree with me here.

Walnuts fall from the trees, making a noise like a tiny explosion. They need to be picked up, cleaned and dried; then they will be a welcome addition to Muesli, salads, and cakes.

My dog’s coat grows thicker; the cat doesn’t want to go outside. Eyes full of reproach, he moves from door to door, expecting summer to reappear behind one of them.

“Make the sun shine again! Why is it cold and wet?”

Grumbling, he winds himself around my legs and then disappears under the cozy blanket on my bed. If he only knew that soon enough we’ll see this again:

14906028502_f6e21c7010_b

14 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Be a Good Neighbour

  1. Ahaha, it is me, me who always ends up with buckets and buckets of apple and transforms in an apple maniac for a month 🙂 🙂 This is a very sweet post, you put this autumn mood in the air so well into words, and it is both nice and funny to read.
    P.S. thank you, I was one of the bloggers you’ve visited – I appreciate it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a wonderful post to usher in the fall! I also need to find courage to post and comment. I visited your blog the other day and read, but I was silent. I intended to return and then there was today’s assignment, so here I am. 🙂

    Like

  3. Thank you for this assignment and your lovely post! I wish I had too many apples and walnuts. I laughed at your pets’ reaction to the cold weather–so like humans! Did you draw your gravatar picture? I’ve been meaning to tell you how neat and unique it is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

