Blogging 101 – Blog Roll and Truth Serum

What a mess! My sidebar, that is.

Blogging 101 continues to be fun and educational. The last few days I’ve been very busy, so I neglected the blog, but now I’ll catch up.

Monday’s assignment was: Build a better blogroll, share the links you love.
Tuesday’s assignment: publish a post based on your own, personalized take on today’s Daily Prompt, which is:  You’ve come into possession of one vial of truth serum. Who would you give it to (with the person’s consent, of course) — and what questions would you ask?

I’ve been wondering for a while what a blogroll is. I’m still not entirely certain. As I understand, it is a list of blogs I like. Or blogs I follow? I don’t follow blogs I don’t like, but some are ‘big blogs’ I follow for entertainment or information, others are more personal. I think the ones I want in this list would be the ones more personal. So I tried out the options in the widgets, but I’m not entirely happy (see Blogs I follow and Blogroll), Blogging 101 makes interesting suggestions how these sites can be showcased and I have to think a bit about this. I’ve been boring people here about Bloglovin and Feedly, and how I like to have everything organized and in one place… organizing it through a blogroll might be a way, but that would mean that everything has to be organized manualy, instead of just clicking on the RSS button… nope, not happy yet, I need to think some more about it and snoop around on all your lovely blogs to see how you’ve solved this.

When I read through last weeks blogs, I noticed just how often I used the term ‘inspired’. It almost sounds overused, but I mean it and couldn’t find a better word yet. Many of the new blogs and much of the new information I’m getting is inspiring me. I get ideas for story scenes. I get ideas for blog posts, for organizing my blog, for many things. So ‘inspiring’ it is, until I learn a better word.

Onwards to today’s prompt and the truth serum. I’d give it to Vladimir Putin and ask him if he really wants to provoke a new cold war. Maybe I should write some more about this, a one-liner probably isn’t in the spirit of today’s assignments, but that’s the thing I’d like to find out.

And finally: my little blog entry about summer’s end and all the apples caused some lovely reactions from other people. I haven’t quite understood that pingback thing yet, but I saw my post, and reactions to it, in unexpected (to me) places. There is still a lot I have to learn about the blogospher and blogo-netiquette, and I need to snoop around on the Daily Post and Blogging 101 sites a bit more.

But, for all of you who are sad that fall has arrived: it’s not quite over yet. Where I live, the weather has turned nice and sunny (after a very rainy summer), and there’s hope for a ‘golden October.’ Harvest time is an interesting time, with fruit and food, wine and hopefully sunshine. Watching nature shift from full activity towards dormancy is similarly fascinating. I usually say that for every season, but right now, early fall is my favourite season.

Leave a Reply

