Blogging 101: Try a New Posting Style

Today’s assignment: build your storyteller’s toolbox by publishing a post in another format or a style you’ve never used before.

This is not a food blog, I’m a lazy cook, often improvising with more or less sucess. I’ve been following craft and food blogs, and got discouraged of posting photographs , since the descriptions of the requirements for good photography seemed so strict. Stylish arrangements, decoration and embellishments seem a must as much as proper lighting, a good camera and perfect food. The same goes for displaying crafts or anything else. I’d never be able to do that, but ever since I started this blog, I just threw out my little pictures, since I like blog entries with pictures and when I use my own, imperfect as they are, I don’t need to worry about copyright issues. So, today, to do a different kind of post, I give you a bit of a food blog.

The other day, the lovely Anna from Tantoverde posted a tempting recipe for apple pie. I had to try it. But I didn’t have the right size baking dish, and I thought I’d have too many apples prepared for one small round cake. So I made two, fearing that it wouldn’t turn out well. The fear changed to hope when delicious scents wafted through the house. The cakes are perfect, both of them, and the SO couldn’t wait and had to try. He is still trying, claiming to not be capable of judgement before he had another piece. Half of the cake is gone by now, and this certainly will be one of our favourite recipes. Here is the product, not arranged or decorated in any way. I usually don’t peel apples for pie or cake when it’s for the family and the recipe allows it, that’s where the reddish colour comes from. Warning: Do not bite the screen. We have our national holiday tomorrow, so having some cake to go with it is perfect.

IMG_0525

 

And, last weekend, I made waffles and even tried to arrange them. I think I better stay with pictures from pets and flowers, and a bit of writing. Don’t laugh so hard, that’s bad for the blood pressure.

waf IMG_0497

But: waffles with apple sauce are delicious, too. However, before I waffle too much and this post ends like all the others, I remain yours faithfully, the not-it-food-blogger-for-a-day.

6 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Try a New Posting Style

  1. So now I want a waffle iron…. What struck me is how much in every aspect of life we all think we have to fill some standard some ideal why not post more real but imperfect pictures of anything you are writing about. Why not collectively lower the bar of performance. Good enough.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. because the photos are staged, they are not the reality of what a food will look like if you follow the directions. I certainly do not have a famous food blog but I use real pictures, often with the hands that are eating the food faster than I can snap the picture in it. 😉

        Like

  2. Thank you so much for your mentioning, yo are so sweet! 🙂
    I guess this is the apple sauce, which recipe you kindly shared with me. Looks great, this dense and brownish… I should try, I should try!

    Like

    1. This somewhat denser version is how many of us like it in Germany. It gets brownish because I didn’t add lemon juice or citric acid or vitamin C to prevent oxidation of the phenols, which causes the brown colour. Adding lemon juice would keep it light-coloured and a bit prettier. Tastes good on pancakes, too. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

