Share Your World – 2014 Week 40 and Blogging 101 on Events and Pages

This post today contains two blogging101 challenges because I’m lazy and only did yesterday’s assignment today.

Yesterday’s assignment: add a new page to your blog, and make sure readers can find it easily.

I added a To-Do list because I don’t have time for anything fancy right now. You can find it under the About page.

Today’s assignment: pick a blogging event from the Community Event Listings to try for some instant community.

041514-sywbannerAll these activities… am I really a dedicated enough blogger? I went to this site, and got lost, as I always do when I’m visiting the Daily Post sites. There is so much there, it is incredible. And most of it is too complicated for me at the moment. I did find an event, however, that looks interesting and is easy to participate in. It is: Share Your World — an interesting idea where Cee, the site owner, asks five questions each week. Comparing the answers from around the world will be fun, interesting and educational. Participating is easy, you just tag and add your link to her comments page. I should be able to do that. I think I could make this a routine, too. And I’m getting more and more away from blogging about MOOCs. Oh my…So here are her five questions for this week:

You’re given $500,000 dollars tax free (any currency), what do you spend it on? 

I would check my finances and see if I could stop working while leading a simple and unpretentious lifestyle.

What’s the finest education?

Travelling and encountering people from other countries, other cultures and with different worldviews. If you’re not a complete dunderhead, it opens up your mind and your heart. But in general I’m of the opinion: the more education, the better. Our brains are hungry for work, otherwise they’ll shrivel and die long before our bodies do.

Marc, Franz - Blue Horse I - Google Art Project.jpg

What kind of art is your favorite? Why?

Expressionism and cubism. Especially the work of Franz Marc. Because it’s beautiful and expressive. Because I love the explosion of colour.

Marc, Franz – Blue Horse I – Google Art Project” by Franz MarcZAFpPn_oQwEIwQ at Google Cultural Institute, zoom level maximum. Licensed under Public domain via Wikimedia Commons.

 

 

Is there something that you memorized long ago and still remember?

Es sitzt ein Vogel auf dem Leim,
Er flattert sehr und kann nicht heim.
Ein schwarzer Kater schleicht herzu,
Die Krallen scharf, die Augen gluh.
Am Baum hinauf und immer höher
Kommt er dem armen Vogel näher.

Der Vogel denkt: Weil das so ist
Und weil mich doch der Kater frißt,
So will ich keine Zeit verlieren,
Will noch ein wenig quinquilieren
Und lustig pfeifen wie zuvor.
Der Vogel, scheint mir, hat Humor.

Wilhelm Busch

This is a poem I had to learn in grade 5 for an event where students show off to parents what they’ve learned and what their talents are. I don’t even know the English term for that. In any case, the teacher wanted that I play-act the poem. It’s about a cat sneaking up on a trapped bird, and I was supposed to open my eyes wide, and pantomime the way the cat climbs up the tree. I didn’t do it. I hated this, but since I had no other talents, I was always stuck with reciting a poem at these events. Disdainfully spitting them out would be a more accurate description. I’m an introvert. I was shy, still can be at times. Standing in front of a room with strangers and doing something I abhor… Yes, thank  you, great fun! But this poem stuck.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Blogging 101, actually. I meet more and more interesting people. I could spend hours looking through their blogs. I got into some nice conversations. I like that, although I still feel a bit shy hopping around on strangers’ blogs and leaving  comments.

Another 667 words brought to you from ‘She-who-has-nothing-to say’

 

9 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2014 Week 40 and Blogging 101 on Events and Pages

    1. “Sind Sie Deutsche” or “Sind Sie Deutscher” is correct. In my case it would be the first, I’m female. 🙂 I’m amazed how many people speak German. And yes, I am.

      Like

  1. Well, I am sorry but I have a whole lot of questions now.
    So, I guess you prefer the German Expressionism? Who is you favorite one? Do you like Emil Nolde? Is he indeed as famous and appreciated in Germany as abroad? (I am asking because it is not always the case).
    You know, I still remember this one: Auf die Berge will Ich steige… Oh My God, why do I still remember it after so many years? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You know, I can tell you what I like, but not too much background about it. Once upon a time I knew a bit more, but I’ve forgotten much of it.
      I like Die Blauen Reiter, was not so much interested in Die Brücke. Nolde certainly is well known here, but I couldn’t say how popular he is, nor how informed people are about his political background, his affinity for the Nazis, his antisemitic leanings.
      I like a wide range of art: Some impressionism, a lot of expressionism, Picasso, Kandinsky, I like abstract, too. But I like all art forms, really, from cave paintings to byzantine mosaics to Holbein (very much!), Rembrandt, to Dali to Christo. And architecture, too, although I know even less about that. And some works of all these genres and periods I don’t like, others I love. It’s more about finding something in the art that appeals to me, less about analysis. For that, I know too little about it. Art Nouveau I also like very much. But ever since I first saw it, I absolutely adored the work of Franz Marc. That’s why I chose his work as the example.

      Like

      1. You know, I was working on the exhibition calendar for the year 2015 – and I was responsible for Germany among other countries. I was very surprised to see that museums are going to put incredible number of exhibitions of Die Blauen Reiter and just one or two of Die Brücke. And of cause there will be many Emil Nolde exhibitions here and there 🙂
        :)that’s great, really, as some people just like impressionism and that’s it. and of cause I agree about finding your works – even in music or in literature you may love some songs of a group but hate others.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

