Share Your World – 2015 Week #3 and Flighty Friday

041514-sywbannerFrom Cee’s Photography, more questions for week 3:

Given the choice of anyone in the world, whom would you want as a dinner guest?

Buzz Aldrin, or Alexander Gerst, or any other astronaut who spent some time in space. No, hold on… Ian Dunbar and Patricia McConnell, I’d pump them for information about dog training, and listen to their anecdotes. No, wait, how about Jane Goodall… or maybe Denise Comer, the teacher from English Composition I… or how about the best option: my friends. Yes, that’s it. My friends, new and old, virtual and ‘real’ all together at one table. That would be great. 🙂

When did you last sing to yourself? To someone else?

I hate to sing in public, this is one of the most embarrassing things you can ask of me. That doesn’t stop me from yodeling in the car when I’m alone in it. I don’t sing for people if I can avoid it. Last time was at a Christmas party at work a few years ago. It would have been overly capricious to refuse, and so I yodeled a ‘O Tannebaum’.

If you could wake up tomorrow having gained any one quality or ability, what would it be?

To heal every disease in the world. More selfish? To be a really good animal trainer.

What, if anything, is too serious to be joked about?

Abuse. Of children, people, animals, of everyone and everything.

Now to the flighty part. There’s not much to say today. I kept working on prettying up the blog. I wrote a new About page and sorted through my tags. Initially I had organized the blog with categories and tags, that’s how you’re supposed to do it. But I found that I often neglected putting new posts into the right category, and my nicely organized sub-categories turned out to be too much of a hassle. I don’t like to have to go through several levels of menus when I browse a site, and didn’t want my readers to have to do that either. And so I reduced to one default blogcategory and am organizing everything through tags. I find it easier to slap the right tags on my posts. On the theme pages, I can make a list with the tabs. So everything that has the tab ‘writerly wednesday’ will show up in that list entry. I can tag the same post with writing, with Fiction, or with anything else, and make list entries for these terms, too. This should make navigating easy and quick, hopefully. We’ll see how it goes. I get confused when I try to sort myself out between categories and tags, and then I don’t do it. Good thing that wordpress offers different options to sort posts.

Next thing to do will be to complete the pages, and sort through my images. The media library looked so nice and clean when I started, but by now it is a mess. I also need to attribute images that don’t belong to me properly. All of them are chosen because they have a creative commons license, but the polite (and sometimes required) thing to do is t add a link to the original.

Tomorrow, hopefully, more on my cat Mikka.

6 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2015 Week #3 and Flighty Friday

  1. All good choices for dinner guests, but friends definitely tops the list! … and yodeling O Tannebaum? I wish I were a fly on the dashboard for that one! 🙂 I can imagine yodeling in the car, I have done so at least once because you can try out all sorts of sounds alone in the car and not be embarrassed if they don’t sound good, but yodeling an entire and complete song eludes me! Tomorrow in the car, I will have to give it a try… or maybe i should see if there are any instructional youtube videos! If you can yodel a whole song, you are talented! 🙂

    Like

    1. ROFL. When I describe my singing as yodeling, You’d have to imagine some unsynchronized up and down which remotely resembles a tune. It has nothing to do with talent nor the Bavarian, or County and Western style of yodeling. We have an expression for that in Germany: standing on a cat’s tail. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, Gahlearner, I love your answers to these questions! I’d really like to be present at that dinner if you had Jane Goodall or Patricia McConnell — I’d bring the wine, or the dessert! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

