Flighty Friday: Share Your World Week 6

"Heliconius hewitsoni qtl1" by Quartl - Own work. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons - http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Heliconius_hewitsoni_qtl1.jpg#mediaviewer/File:Heliconius_hewitsoni_qtl1.jpgNo blog work this week. I’m baaad. I enjoyed writing and the graphic-design course far too much.  But of course there’s  Share your World Week 6

What was the last time you went to a new place?

I haven’t travelled much lately. But last summer I visited a small town close to where I work that has a beautiful, old town centre, many vineyards, and a castle. Many of the buildings had been affected by drilling for geothermic energy. I had heard and read about that, but actually seeing the cracks in so many of the buildings really brought the extent of the damage home.

If you were or are a writer do you prefer writing short stories, poems or novels, other?  And what type of genre would you prefer?

I like to write, and I like both, short stories, and novels (not that I’m published, or anything). I don’t know anything about poetry.

Out of your five senses (touch, taste, sight, smell, hearing) which is your favorite?

My favorite… there’s a war on between sight and touch. I’m a visual person, and love everything visual: shape, colour, design. But if the question were: which sense can’t you live without, I’d have to say touch. It connects us to other living beings, to the world around us, as no other sense does. You can give a lot of information, and emotional input through touch which you can’t give as easily with the other senses. Seeing and hearing isn’t the same as feeling. I think there’s a reason why we link the description of emotions to touch. We may see and hear the love, we may smell, and taste, our passions, but most of all, we feel it.

If 100 people your age were chosen at random, how many do you think you’d find leading a more satisfying life than yours?

Right now, I’d say 99%,, because I currently find myself locked in a stressful and seemingly unmoving situation considering something I really want. But looked at my life overall objectively, I’d consider myself in the upper third. So, that would be 33% who’d live a more satisfying life.

And in that sense: Enjoy your Valentine’s Day, those of you who ‘do’ it. Have a nice weekend, everyone else.

4 thoughts on “Flighty Friday: Share Your World Week 6

Leave a Reply

