Writerly Wednesday +1: The Pet

scalpel
I pledge to give and graciously receive concrit

It’s Thursday, and thus time for the Friday Fictioneers, posted under Writerly Wednesday (+1). Are you confused yet?

To the left you find a blade and a pledge. My layout doesn’t have a side-bar, and while I’ll stick this under the Writerly Wednesday page later, I’ll regularly post this in small form with my entries.

Concrit is a good thing. As a non-native English speaker, and writer, I rely on concrit. I need it, and don’t feel comfortable if I post something that hasn’t been seen by a second pair of eyes. Which is what I’m doing here constantly, please forgive the, at times, odd language.

I can’t offer much concrit in terms of grammar, because I’m not familiar with the fine details every language has, details and gems that are often used by good writers. So, if there is an archaic, poetic use of a phrase or word, and I say, hey, your grammar and spelling is all wrong: do you really want my concrit in the future?

Normal spelling, some easy grammar, and most of all ‘does it work?’ you can have from me any time you want.

So, finally, here comes my offering for the Friday Fictioneers. Last time I counted, it had exactly 100 words. Thank you, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, for the prompt.

Here is a link to all the other entries for this week’s prompt:

The Pet

c2a9dawn_landau© Dawn Q. Landau

I studied her for years, and found her to be gentle, affectionate, and quite intelligent. Leaving her will break her heart, but if I don’t go soon, she’ll wonder why I don’t age like my primitive, local cousins do.

It is hard to believe, but apes are indeed the dominant species on this planet. Despite limited sensory input they developed a good, complex brain. Neither clumsy opposable thumbs nor lack of telepathy, and telekinesis, could stop them.

Her world will be protected, that’s the least I can do. I do love her. I should smuggle her out as a pet.

23 thoughts on “Writerly Wednesday +1: The Pet

  1. We constantly joked and speculated from our cat’s point of view and did ridiculous stuff, like send his biological mum a letter from his point of view describing his new humans when he first chose us. (I always did wonder why I happened to open that newspaper and read that particular ad. Cat-to-human telepathy?) I’m sure lots of pet owners do this.

    Your piece takes it one interesting and amusing step further. I enjoyed it.

    (PS Writing in the past tense about my lovely cat (pictured here napping on the warm wooden floor) as he died this January aged 16.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry about your cat, I know how that hurts.
      Thank you for the comment, I love the idea of the cat writing a letter to her mum. 😀 I think most pet owners would like their pets’ thoughts every once in while.

      Like

  2. I really liked the voice in this. It’s gentle, almost unassuming and bordering on the analytical at the same time. Well done. Sorry to be late, I thought I’d commented before now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

