Flighty Friday: Share Your World and The Magic Eye

800px-Terry_Pratchett_HatRIP Terry Pratchet, and thank you for the many, many hours of reading and laughter.


Sigh… We are in week 10 of the new year already, isn’t that scary?

Anyway, time again for Share Your World Week 10 — and after that, I’ll chatter a bit about stereograms, also known as Magic Eye images.

041514-sywbannerWhen you lose electricity in a storm, do you light the candles or turn on the flashlight? How many of each do you own?

It’s the flashlight to get things going, candles if this lasts longer. We seldom have storms that severe here. I own three or four working flashlights, a few more are lying around that aren’t functional any longer. Candles… there are always a few around.

You are given $5,000 and the chance to exchange it for one of two envelopes. One envelope contains $50,000 and one contains $500. Do you make the trade? Why or why not?

I don’t make the trade. Getting 5,000 just like that is nice. I don’t really need the 50,000 (although I’d take them), and while having 500 just like that is nice, too, having 5,000 is nicer. Greedy? Me? What?

What’s your first memory?

I can’t remember. Sitting in my grandparent’s yard and playing in the dirt, perhaps. Looking at the doves they kept. Watching grandpa feeding his rabbits. It’s difficult to say which exactly are my real memories, and what I saw on old pictures, or was told I did as a small kid.

What do you do if you can’t sleep at night? Do you count sheep, toss and turn, or get up and try to do something?

This depends on why I can’t sleep. I usually sleep like a log. I’m a night owl and get too bed far too late most nights, have to get up in the morning anyway, and thus am always on the brink of not getting enough sleep. When I’m otherwise comfortable but can’t sleep because I’m restless for some reason: going through the different stages of relaxation while doing Savasana, the Yoga corpse pose, never has failed me. I usually drift off halfway through.


Recently I’ve seen stereograms popping up in unexpected places again and again. I’m sure all of you know stereograms, they were all the hype in the Eighties, but weren’t really all that present in the last decade or two, I think. I may be wrong, this may only be true where I live, but never mind.

Back in the Eighties, stereograms were all the hype with my friends. They could see the 3D images, and went all ooh and aah. I never could see them. We even went to an exhibition once, with large stereograms hanging on the walls and crowds of people admiring them. I couldn’t see it. One patient friend tried to show me how it’s done, he told me again, and again. I was close to tears, felt very, very stupid–and I think my friend considered me to be rather stupid, too–I could not see them.

About ten years ago, I chatted with a co-worker, a medical doctor. He has kids and they had forgotten a Magic Eye book in his office. I saw it, and commented how inadequate I felt, because I never could see them. He took a look at me and said, “Of course you can’t see them, you are short-sighted. Have you tried taking your glasses off?”

I must have gaped at him like a fool, because he laughed. He elaborated a bit: “Try without glasses, never mind the un-focused stare, move backwards and forwards until you see depth appearing in the image, try not to blink. Continue staring, and the image will appear.” And what do you know, they did. I felt such triumph. Only twenty years later… LOL

But, that’s the story of my life: I’m always behind on the ‘in’ things and learn about them, or appreciate them, when they are already ‘out’. This doesn’t bother me much any more, but ever since I found out how it works, I’ve loved stereograms. Meanwhile, I can see them with glasses, too. And in that sense, have a good weekend.

6 thoughts on “Flighty Friday: Share Your World and The Magic Eye

  1. I love those stereogram pictures, but had problems seeing them at first, too. I eventually got the hang of it. Depending on how the picture is configured, you either need to use divergent or convergent vision.
    Several years ago I started seeing an eye doctor who wrote this book –
    http://www.amazon.com/Magic-Eye-Beyond-3D-Improve/dp/0740745271/ref=pd_sim_b_1/185-0995246-2433631?ie=UTF8&refRID=185PY0F1M92NJ00VMHK4
    He has me use the book to do eye exercises to help improve my vision. I’m nearsighted with an astigmatism and was finally in need of bifocals or progressive lenses. The eye exercises help me to no longer need the progressive lenses. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome! Because I’m nearsighted he recomended that while viewing the pictures I use divergent vision while wearing glasses opposite to my prescription – this amounted to buying a cheap pair of magnifying reading glasses made for farsighted people.
        Dr. Grossman has written other books about improving your vision. I think they’re also on Amazon. He does admit that the laser surgery these days has gotten so good that it’s the fast track to completely correcting nearsightedness. At my age, however, it would probably then cause me to need reading glasses, so I’m happy to stick with the glasses I have always worn and keep the need for bifocals at bay… Besides, with my vision as is, if I need to see that really tiny print, I can take my glasses off and get really close! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m replying to your other post here, because I can’t reply to the other one. I think I have to review my settings. Somethings’s odd here, too, since I needed to approve your replies, which shouldn’t be necessary, but never mind — yes, I’m taking my glasses off, too, but it gets worse over time, and really tiny script gives me trouble. I’m not sure if I’m brave enough to laser. When it first came up, the ophthalmologist did not recommend it, it was still risky. Now I wonder: people will see all my wrinkles πŸ˜‰ I would like to only need to worry about reading glasses, though. Outdoors this would be great. Or maybe wait a bit longer and see if I get cataracts, and not wait with the operation til I’m eighty… Hm… πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Perhaps you had to approve my comment here because of the Amazon link? I know you can also put a cap on how many comments are allowed in one string in the settings.

        I’m not going to rush for laser surgery. After so many years of being nearsighted I find having normal middle-aged eyesight (in need of reading glasses) disorienting. I know this from the occasional times that I wore contact lenses when I needed progressive lenses. I had to put on reading glasses with my contacts or hold the print at arms length or further. My natural impulse, being nearsighted since childhood, is to bring the print close. Try this when you should be moving it away instead and you’ll see the brain do a little hiccup. I like my super nearsighted ability to see super tiny things by taking my glasses off (so far so good with this), and I like that I’ve been able to improve my vision enough to no longer need progressive lenses for normal reading. I can once again see far and read with the same prescription. I don’t mind wearing glasses. I’ve done so since I was in 4th grade. It all boils down to habit I guess.

        The laser surgery is a lot more advanced than it used to be, but you might have something there, waiting for cataracts! Everyone that I know that has had surgery to correct this says that they see better than they ever did!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

