Flighty Friday: Awardy, Eclipse, and Share Your World

Blog Image Flighty Friday - CanvaSome days I don’t know what to post, on others everything happens at once. The lovely ladyleemanila must have read my recent whining about lack of motivation, because she nominated me for the Creative Blogger’s Award. How’s that for motivation? Yippee! Thank you so much, Ladylee!

Rules, information, and nominees are under the cut.

We had a partial solar eclipse today. First day of spring and solar eclipse, how’s that for special. A few words about that later.

Finally, Share your World Week 11, more of that under the cut, too.

1. The Creative Blogger Award — Thank you, LadyleeManila!creativebloggersaward1

The Rules:
• Nominate 15-20 blogs and notify all nominees via their social media/blogs
• Thank and post the link of the blog that nominated you (very important)
• Share 5 facts about yourself to your readers
• Pass these rules on to them

Here are my nominees (if you don’t accept rewards, or have it already, please ignore). I have such a wide variety of interesting and creative blogs in my reader, nominating is really difficult. But, if you like the award, grab it:

Writing Stories Rocks 

Through the lense of my life

Breathing Space

Fanny Frankfurter

James Keegan

Anntogether

C-Dog & Company

Wallflower Whimsy

The Road to Joy

Simple Images 2

 Dog Leader Mysteries

The Adventures of Noodle

I hope I made you curious about these blogs, dear readers. Please go and check them out, you will be amazed.

Now to the five facts about me. This is always a difficult thing…

1. I’m a botanist, but I don’t work in research any more.

2. I like to go hiking, camping, and canoeing

3. I don’t have kids, but I always have at least one fur-kid around.

4. I have a patent (it doesn’t make me rich)

5. I am often grumpy


2. So, with this part of the post done, let’s move to the special day we had today.

Spring, Yay. And a partial eclipse: double Yay! Sadly, I didn’t have any special goggles, so I only ‘saw’ it on livestream, but the experience is interesting. It is the second almost full eclipse I’ve experienced, the first I remember well was in 1999. It is eery how the light all of a sudden changes to that of early morning or evening. And then it gets more and more darkish, you think the sky is heavily overcast, but it is not. Right before it gets dark (not today where I live) the birds get quiet. It’s a bit spooky but also exciting. Then the golden light comes again, and then it gets brighter, until you don’t even notice that something is going on. It was great. I tried to take a picture with my old iPad (someone on the radio said you could see the eclipse through the camera), but all I got was a bright smudge in a blue sky. I spare you that, LOL.


041514-sywbanner3. And onwards to Share Your World, Week 11

List 2 things you have to be happy about?

My SO and I are in good health and rather fit, although I need to lose weight, I don’t want type 2 diabetes. And we don’t have any financial troubles. These are two good reasons to be happy about, I think. The fur kids are doing fine, too, reason 3.

Do you prefer ketchup or mustard or mayonnaise?  

Either or neither. It depends on what I eat. With fries: ketchup. With some sausages: mustard, with others: ketchup. I don’t eat mayonnaise often.

If you were to paint a picture of your childhood, what colors would you use?

Black with a few bright sparkles thrown in. I was not a happy child.

Do you prefer a bath or shower?

I love a hot bath, but for getting clean, fresh, and awake every morning, nothing beats the shower. Besides, it uses less water, so ecologically friendlier. But once in a while: a hot bath.

And after all this chatter, I wish you all a good weekend.

3 thoughts on “Flighty Friday: Awardy, Eclipse, and Share Your World

  1. That’s fascinating that you’re a botanist. I don’t think I’ve ever encountered anyone with that credential.
    After this post, I see have a things in common: no kids (only the furry kind) and our childhood colors would be very similar.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

