Flighty Friday: Share Your World Week12

Blog Image Flighty Friday - CanvaThere is a grey mist of sadness and confusion covering my country, and I am as affected by it as most other people I know. The horrible plane crash from last Tuesday, the questions, the general feeling of being powerless is numbing.

So I’m not going to chatter, just do the Share Your World challenge.

I may change my blog layout yet again one of these days. I really like the design, font, and almost everything else of the one I have, but it doesn’t have a side bar. I really miss that, it makes organizing easier. I’m not ready to go with the paid version yet where I’d have the CSS options.

Onwards to Share Your World Week 12:

041514-sywbannerWhen was the last time you sat on a park or garden bench for more than ten minutes? Describe the occasion.

We don’t have a bench, but stairs, and chairs, and I sit there often in summer, enjoying the humming of the bees, the flowers, and the sunshine. I’m not often visiting parks these days, we live in a village and have forest and field within a short walking distance. There are benches, I sit there often in summer when I walk with the dog. Listening to the birds: in spring and early summer, we have many nightingales there, and they make quite the racket. There are also herons, ducks, musk rats… it’s just a good place to sit and let the world go by.

Would you ever be interested in observing a surgery or do you turn away when the nurse brings out the needle? 

I could observe a surgery, although I’d probably faint sometimes in between. I flinch when I see injuries, but when it’s important, I can get over myself. Needles don’t bother me, I watch with fascination as blood is drawn, or injections are made, but sometimes I feel weak, can’t help that. I studied biology in my remote youth, and dissecting animals was part of basic zoology. When one of my cats was about to be spayed, a long time ago, I asked the vet if I could watch, being a biologist and all… he let me, and I was fascinated, but again, I felt faint. Good thing I didn’t want to become a surgeon.

Where’s your favorite place to take out-of-town guests?

I don’t have a favourite place for that. Depends on what they like. There are some nice, small pubs not so far from here where you can eat a special type of cheese, and drink apple cider, which is very much a local thing.

If you had an unlimited shopping spree at only one store, which one would you choose? Why?

West Edmonton Mall? Just kidding. I have no idea. Should be a department store that has a wide range of good to medium quality goods. I don’t need fancy stuff. Or maybe amazon… or no, hold it, the Apple store… No, that would be selfish… (can you tell that I don’t have kids?) — something that also has a pet section included… or… can’t it be West Edmonton Mall, pretty please?

2 thoughts on “Flighty Friday: Share Your World Week12

Leave a Reply

