Writerly Wednesday: The Stranger

All hail to the Friday Fictioneers and Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, who keep me writing with their weekly photo prompts. Please read the other stories here: 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
image ©Jennifer Pendergast

The Stranger

“Without the scrap metal, this could be Mars.”

“Really? Mars looks like that?”

“Pretty much. Except for our domes. Everything’s green in there. Or was… it’s all gone now.”

“And that’s why you came here?”

“Yes.”

“And you don’t like it?”

“It’s not quite… I don’t know… It’s not what I expected.”

“But now you’re here to stay.”

“What choice do I have? I can’t go back.”

“We have gardens, too, you know?”

“Do you? Where?”

“I can’t tell.”

“Can I come visit?”

“It depends.”

“On how useful I am?”

“On how truthful you are. Mars… Who’s gonna believe this?”

http://www.nasa.gov/jpl/msl/pia18473/#.VMj76XtrU80
This image from NASA’s Mars Curiosity rover shows the “Amargosa Valley,” on the slopes leading up to Mount Sharp on Mars. (http://www.nasa.gov/jpl/msl/pia18473/#.VMj76XtrU80)
33 thoughts on “Writerly Wednesday: The Stranger

  1. I”t’s – You may want to fix this little boo-boo in the eighth line.

    Delightful conversation between two “beings” from different worlds. I like that one is trying to reassure the other instead of trying to run them off.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry, LOL. When I wrote it, I didn’t know that it was Chruchill (a place where I want to go, too, someday soon before the polar bears are extinct). I’m usually not reading anything surrounding the image before I write my story, nor other stories, so I found out only later. I was wondering where it was: desert? tundra? And then the Mars images came to mind.

      Like

  2. Dear Gahlearner,

    I am intrigued by the idea of a Martian born human returning to Earth after some catastrophe and having to struggle to survive on what was once the cradle of life. This was wonderful and makes me want to steal and enlarge it.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Doug,
      thank you so much! Do you know how encouraging your words are? This is a tiny scene in the world of a would-be novel I’m plotting/writing on and off. With exactly the premise you stated. And if you find it interesting, then maybe it’s not as dumb as I often think when I’m in ‘doubt everything’ phase. By all means, steal away…

      Like

  3. I don’t know if I’d trust an alien after all the nasty ones I’ve read about. Also, if he found his way to earth, why can’t he find his way to a garden spot? This guy doesn’t ring true. Good and well written, Gahlearner. 🙂 — Suzanne.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

