Flighty Friday: Is it summer already?

Blog Image Flighty Friday - CanvaWe’re having a series of wonderful, sunny days, and it is warm. Last week we had frost, and hailstorms. This weekend we have temperatures of 20° Celsius. I’ve dug out an ancient smart phone with a similarly ancient camera–and forgot how to use it, so some of the images are tiny. It has the advantage that I can take it with me on doggie walks, and won’t be sorry when it falls in a puddle, or gets lost. Maia and I had a wonderful walk, and I took a few pictures. If you wonder about the asparagus: hereabouts it’s mostly eaten in its white, bleached form. The plant is covered by long mounds, the shoots are carefully dug out and cut. To get earlier harvest than May, farmers cover the mounds with plastic, one side is black, to absorb the sunlight and warm the shoots; the other side is white for reflecting the sunlight and slowing down growth. You see workers run around on the fields turning the plastic, depending on the weather and the market. Odd, isn’t it? Asparagus is the best in its proper season, but they get more money when they can sell early. Same for strawberries which they grow here in big foil tunnels. Later, when the prices are low, you can find fields full of strawberries left to rot. That’s when I usually forget my morals and go sample a few… and a few more.

I also wanted to try out the gallery feature. Again, I apologize for the less than perfect quality. Finally…

2 thoughts on “Flighty Friday: Is it summer already?

  1. I chuckled at the idea of an ancient smartphone – I’ve only just got a smart phone/camera for Christmas. (What it takes pictures! And I can phone you! Still haven’t given everyone my number – I value my privacy.)
    The spring pictures are lovely.
    I just flew from the UK to Germany (Munich) for a spring break and wondered at all the agricultural polythene seen from the air both sides of the Channel – think you’ve gone a long way to explaining this. My local farm sells seasonal vegetables only, from just down the road but I admit I do supplement these.
    Pricing of things is odd isn’t it and throwing away food such a shame. We’re always taught that Elizabethan peasants had a healthy (if monotonous) diet and good teeth, whereas the nobility had bad teeth because they ate too many sweet expensive and exotic foods.

    Our hotel in Munich was filled with forsythia decorated with blown eggs – very pretty. It’s also out in my London street now, very like your photo. Enjoy the weather and many more walks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you had a good time in Munich. The Forsithia and the blown eggs: that’s an easter thing we like to do. There’s some more elaborate decorating with easter trees in the South, but some branches decorated with eggs seems to be done everywhere, and Forsithia have that explosion of yellow… you don’t do that with eater eggs in the UK?

      The plastic, yeah, there’s even more to it. Some farmers double-insulate their asparagus fields. There’s the black/white cover, and then they have small tunnels to additionally warm it up. And then there are all these strawberry tunnels. That’s what they do where I live, they may do more crazy things elsewhere with other crops… Maybe I make another post with it, I got some more, and slightly better pictures. The plastic is not so great environmentally, it gets ripped by the wind, and there are small pieces flying around everywhere.

      That’s an interesting story about peasants and nobility. I hadn’t heard that…

      The ancient smart phone, LOL. It’s a Palm One, one of the first hand-held computers were Palms. I had a simple Palm many years ago as an organizer and also used it for reading, before kindle and the like. Then I had to replace it, and got that thing that could also be used as a phone, and it had a camera. I still don’t have a modern smart phone, I have my iPad for mobile computing, and only need a simple phone for phone calls… although I do covet the camera in the iphone.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

