Random Post: A Poll

It’s time for spring cleaning, and I’m thinking about finally changing my layout to something easier to organize. I really like the McKinley theme I have now,  but it doesn’t have a side bar. I think a side bar makes it easier for readers to find their way around, just in case someone is interested in the blog, not only a specific post. Also: I’ve wanted to try out the poll feature. And so today there is this poll about your blog-reading habits, dear readers. Please don’t be shy, I’m very interested in this. I do like large images, but if they annoy my readers, I can tone down. If readers don’t care, that’s helpful to know, too.

9 thoughts on “Random Post: A Poll

  1. I am not a fan of big images, to be honest. I care more about the text, and it is important to me that its size is easily readable – not too small and not too big. I like being able to view summaries of the info available, so a sidebar is definitely important.

    I guess my own blog would speak for my personal interests, so feel free to visit it at https://anaslair.wordpress.com/

    It focuses mostly on book reviews, sometimes movie ones as well and music videos. I have to admit I love the sidebar, iIt is a great tool for sure. People can choose by categories, tags (genres), or archives. They can also see what I am currently reading because of the GR widget. You can customize it as you like and as you can see it can display all sorts of interesting and useful info, so I definitely recommend getting a layout where you can implement one.

    Thanks for wanting to know what your visitors prefer, best of luck with your choice!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I either binge read in the WordPress reader and visit the blog for complete content, or I seek out specific blogs to visit and then poke around on them. It depends on my mood and the time available.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I am not a fan of sidebars as I will look at them and not pay attention to what’s in front of me. It’s why I don’t use them for my blog theme. I think it’s best to go with a theme that suits the experience you would like guests to have.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. That’s a very interesting point. I, too, often get distracted by content in the sidebar, but I find it useful. I’m rather new to the WordPress blogging world, and I find things through other people’s sidebars. But I guess it’s a good idea to keep them somewhat tame.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I like your survey. The idea of taking the reader inside you to create a better viewing blog is interesting. I’m an artist and create my blogs and posts the way I would a piece of art. I think all in all a blog should reflect the personality of the blog-ee (that’s you). I like easy navigation around the blog. I like photos large or small. I like to feel the person whose page I’m reading. I could read a newspaper if I wanted bland and boring.
    Just a few thoughts rolling in my mind.
    Isadora 😎

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the feedback, Isadora! These are pretty much my views, too, but I wasn’t certain about how other people read blogs. I’m working on my new layout now, and hope it will be practicable.

      Like

Leave a Reply

