Writerly Wednesday: Love is a burnin’ thing

It is time for Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ Friday Fictioneers again. You’ll find the other entries here:

I’ve been very busy this week and horribly amiss with my reading and reviewing. I pledge to do better. Without further ado, my 100 word offering to the fiery flash fiction faeries:

fire-roger-bultot
image © Roger Bultot

Love is a burnin’ thing

Who needs love? Not I. I checked my equipment and peeked at the grimoire.

  1. Light the candle. Check.
  2. Grind and blend garlic, hyssop, and a strand of my hair. Check.
  3. Chant, “Out of my heart, into the flames goes the fire. Love shall bother me no more.”
  4. Extinguish flame with a pinch of the mixture.

I had a hunch that I’d botched the spell when the candle flared and set the curtains ablaze. I knew that the spell had failed when I looked into the firefighter’s eyes after he’d rescued me from the smoke-filled house.

The Title is the first line of Johnny Cash’s song “Ring of Fire.”

56 thoughts on “Writerly Wednesday: Love is a burnin’ thing

  1. What is it about firemen that makes otherwise rational women go ridiculous?
    (My boss at work actually asked a fireman if he’d got his hose with him!)
    Great fun. Nicely written – all comes together well. Really like the ‘I had a hunch that…’ ‘I knew that…’

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Obviously a witch in training… Guess she never saw “Practical Magic” and what can happen when you are not experience enough!

    Lucky for her she was saved.

    Now I’ve got “Ring of Fire” in my head! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It seems fate had other plans for her and finally she got what she didn’t want. Good thing is, he is a firefighter…she can keep perfecting her magic with continued small blasts and fire. 😉
    I enjoyed the story, Gahlearner.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

