Friday Fictioneers: Come, Let’s Fly a Kite…

WriterlyTime again for another photo prompt from Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for the Friday Fictioneers.

I really enjoy participating every week. You can find all the other stories here:

Please visit, participate, and/or leave a like and a comment.

keck
Image © Douglas M. MacIlroy

Come, Let’s Fly A Kite… (100 words)

“Let’s fly,” Welbo said on my fifth birthday.

“Mum won’t like it.”

“I’m with you.” As a six-year-old, he acted all grown-up.

“It’s on your head, then.”

A few hops brought us to the drop-off behind the arboretum domes.

“Wait.” Welbo’s voice crackled in my headset.

“Can’t hear you.” I jumped. This was flying! Not like the simulator…

The gusts came unexpected, rattling my kite, and making the sublimating carbon dioxide ice dance in the sunlight.

“Stay low,” Welbo commanded.

Trembling, I followed him home.

“Not bad, Marsling.”

My puffed-out chest deflated quickly. Mum stood in the doorway, looking grim.

The title is from a song in the Disney film “Mary Poppins.” One Mars year has 687 earth days.

49 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Come, Let’s Fly a Kite…

  1. Wonderful that kites can fly and dance through the earthly breezes, travel to Mars, and still give the same sense of freedom.
    “Let’s go fly a kite, up where the air is bright . . . send it soaring” Oops, my Mary Poppinsisms are showing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There’s a whole section on NASA’s websites about kites and how they need to be constructed to fly them on an average day on Mars, LOL. The things you learn when you write… And I love the song, too, and the movie. Haven’t read the books though. Oh, and thank you. 🙂

      Like

    1. Overprotecting can be just as harmful as not protecting enough, I think. I’m glad you enjoyed it, thank you. BTW, sorry for the spam in your comment section, I thought my comment went in the wrong place, but it didn’t. Now it’s there twice…

      Like

    1. Dear Rochelle, with a larger word count there might have been injuries, heroic rescues and more adventure, but it just wouldn’t fit into 100 words, LOL. I’m glad you enjoyed it, thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

