Happy 25th anniversary, Hubble! And: Share Your World Week 16

Happy anniversary, Hubble telescope! After a wobbly beginning, it has given us a multitude of wonderful and wondrous images from our universe. Visit Hubble’s website, lose yourself in the images and the wonders and mysteries of our universe, and join the celebration. The NYT has a nice, informative article about Hubble’s history, too.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

041514-sywbannerAnd if Hubble isn’t flighty enough, here are my answers to the questions from: Share Your World Week 16

What are your favorite spices?

Is there a spice I don’t like? I can’t think of one and would have to say: all of the ones I know. Of course there will be a multitude of spices I don’t know. Of the more ‘universal ones’ I do often use garlic (is that a spice?), red pepper, Cayenne pepper, turmeric, cumin, cinnamon, and… and… and…

What object do you always have with you when traveling and why?

My iPad, and before that an ancient palm. Before that, one or more books. Can you guess? I like to read when travelling. Clothes, of course, when I stay overnight. But even for short trips: iPad. This I can use for almost everything: read, recording audio, read, taking pictures, read, write, read, surf the web, read, make blog posts, read, recording videos, read… ahem, there might be a preference there.

What is one thing you love about being an adult?

I love everything about being an adult. Being a kid wasn’t particularly nice for me. The one thing I love the most is being independent, free, not accountable to anyone but myself in the deeper sense. If I break the law or skip work or waste all my money: it’s myself who decides this, it’s myself who is to blame for the consequences.

What item, that you don’t have already, would you most like to own?

A house in Canada — And a good camera. And an iPhone. And a second doggie as soon as Maia gets better with her reactivity. And… Oh, you asked for “most”… yes, the house. I lived in Canada for a while too many years ago and really would like to live there again, don’t know if I can manage that, though.

And this is the end of this week’s Flighty Friday. Have a good weekend, everyone.

4 thoughts on “Happy 25th anniversary, Hubble! And: Share Your World Week 16

Leave a Reply

