Share Your World Week 17 and Apple Blossoms

041514-sywbannerAnother week, another Share Your World challenge. Cee Neuner hosts this challenge every week, and comes up with all these interesting questions. Why don’t you go and take a look at her photography blog, there is a lot to see, and there are many other challenges, mostly about photography.

On to the challenge, here are my answers:

1. What is your most favorite smell/scent?

Lilac flowers. A close second are honeysuckle flowers, the third are roses. And the smell of dog. This brings back childhood memories of a doggy friend who was patient and loving, and let toddler-me pull on his fur and twist his tail without so much as a growl.

Do you prefer long hair or short hair for yourself? 

Hair and I are not on good terms. I have a lot of that frizzy, unruly stuff on my head which isn’t soft as that of other people, nor shiny. I can’t be bothered to spend much time straightening and conditioning and whatnot, so it has to be simple and easy for me. When I was young, I preferred my hair long, it was a wild mane and didn’t look all that bad. In my mid-fourties I switched to a bob, something between shoulder and chin length. Since it’s layered, it tolerates the waves and frizz. I smear some gel into it in the morning to keep it from flying around, and that’s it. Some people can wear long hair until they’re eighty, but my face isn’t one of these faces. With my wrinkles and sagging tissue, the long hair looks silly. When I get older, I guess I’ll have it even shorter.  Unfortunately I don’t have a nice head shape, otherwise I’d just wear it really short.

Do you plan out things usually or do you do them more spontaneous (for example if you are visiting a big city you don’t know?)

It’s been a while… I get a map, visit the tourist info, and then just go. It depends on the city, there will always be something I want to see in any case, these visits are planned. The rest is more or less spontaneous. In my experience this is most fun and can bring you interesting and exciting encounters.

What is your favorite outdoor activity?

Canoeing and camping. Being on the water. Fishing is good. Hiking is good.  But gardening and walking with the dog is good, too. I just like to be outside.

To end this post I give you some bad pictures from our apple trees which were in full bloom this week. I so love apple blossoms. I was born in a village but moved to a big city when I was two. There were flowers, and parks… but I never noticed flowering trees until we moved again, to a small town. In first grade, we went on an excursion, looking at fields and woods, and there were these flowering apple trees. I had no idea that woody, sturdy, big things like trees could have something as fragile as these blossoms. It must have been one of my first really happy moments in nature. Even today, when I look at an apple blossom with a blue sky as background, I have this completely happy moment, where the heart goes wide, all sorrows stop, and the whole me is one big, happy “Aaaaah…”

Do you know how you’re supposed to create a pleasant, happy room in your mind for relaxation or meditation? Apple blossoms and a sunny sky would be one of these rooms for me. I can go there, and just be.

a1a2a3

One thought on “Share Your World Week 17 and Apple Blossoms

Leave a Reply

