Friday Fictioneers: Happy Feet

Another week is gone and it is time for the Friday Fictioneers again. Rochelle Wisoff-Fields graciously hosts the event every week. Check out all the stories for this prompt by clicking on the frog. Please read, review, and join the fun.

faucet-21-224x3001
Image © Madison Woods

Happy Feet

“There is nothing wrong with you, but there will be if you don’t start exercising soon.”

These weren’t exactly the words I wanted to hear when I went to see my doctor about my aching joints last year. Where was the compassion? And where was my prescription? Yes, I was overweight and short of breath–but I also hated exercise with a vengeance.

“Find something you enjoy and stick to it. Try swimming.”

Swimming? Me in a swim suit? No way! Reluctantly, I enrolled in a tap dance class instead.

In our next annual fundraiser performance, I’ll dance the solo.

(100 words)

48 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Happy Feet

  1. Tap dancing makes me smile every time – the ridiculous nature of human ingenuity. I love the photo connection! Well done.
    (I lived in the States for a while and told a maintenance man I needed a plug for the bath and the tap wasn’t working – he translated this as I needed a stopper for the tub and the faucet was broken!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha. It took me a while, way back, to understand that not all English is the same. We learned British English at school, and later I just incorporated everything I heard and read into my vocabulary. Later still I learned about differences in spelling–aaaugh! LOL. Explains a few funny looks I got from time to time about my choice of words.
      I love watching tap dancing (and Irish dancing… dancing in general), too. anyway, thank you, glad you had fun with the story. 🙂

      Like

    1. I’ve read somewhere that it is never too late for ballet (or anything else you want to do, as long as you can move, there was an article somewhere about martial arts class in a retirement home). Walking and weights sound good, too. Thank you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It often gets better when there’s regular movement. I was considering giving her an aching back, but then the doctor couldn’t have suggested swimming. With severe joint problems, I agree, tap dancing might be problematic, but I pictured the MC as mostly stiff from lack of exercise. Oh, and thank you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe, doesn’t have to be tap dancing. I hate most sports, but found that I like a light form of Yoga which I can do at home, without competition, just as far as I can go. This has helped me with an aching back and some other sore spots since many years. I like biking, too, and hiking.
      Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed the story. 🙂

      Like

  2. When the doctor said to start swimming, I figured you’d dig a swimming pool and fill it from the tap. What a delightful surprise to find that you were going to dance instead. I love dancing but don’t like swimming at all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

