Ode To My Beta Reader

2014-08-22 18-59-11_Dokument1 - Microsoft WordHappy Birthday Andrea, good friend and also inimitable beta reader!

As promised earlier this week: in celebration of Andrea’s birthday, here is my Ode to my beta reader. I apologize to all the poets out there… (please don’t hit me). 🙂

If you want to spare yourself the pain, scroll further down for my “Share Your World” answers.

Ode To My Beta Reader

My writing stumbles, and one clumsy word

Follows the other, falling from my head

Onto the blameless page quite undeterred:

Words waiting for adornments made in red.

This is the beta reader’s hefty lot.

She wields her pen correcting word and phrase

And punctuation that runs wild and free.

All this she sets to rights, but never plot.

For all of this she well deserves my praise:

Invaluable friend, let’s have some tea.

(Ouch…. ouch…. stop… stop… no more hitting, please. 😉 )

Share Your World Week 18

What type of pets do you have or want?  Or do you not want pets?

Currently I have a dog and a cat. I always want(ed) pets and had hamsters, mice, cats, dogs… In the future, Maia permitting, I’d like to have a second dog. Maia is a Podenco cross, Jack was, too. Before Jack we had Spot, a Border Collie. I’d like to have another Border Collie, together with Maia. She needs a bit more time before we can think about this though. Just today I read a very interesting article about getting a second dog

What was or is your favorite cartoon?

I’ve always loved cartoons. As a small child, my dad used to take me to the movies where old Disney cartoons were running. I so loved these. These characters could do so many amazing things and had so much fun, I wanted to live in their world. I also love Loony Tunes. Pink Panther… not up-to date with current stuff though.

When you’re alone at home, do you wear shoes, socks, slippers, or go barefoot?

socks, slippers or barefoot, depending on the weather. I’m always glad when I can get out of the shoes. I wear Birkenstocks at work, luckily we have no dress code.

Are you a traveler or a homebody? 

Both. I love to travel, but after a while I want to be at home for a while, which I also enjoy.

Thank you, Cee Neuner, for another set of interesting questions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

