Friday Fictioneers: 2050

I pledgeEvery Wednesday, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, the host of the Friday Fictioneers, posts a photo prompt to get our creative juices flowing. She challenges us to write a story with beginning, middle, and end in 100 words or less. Every week 100+ people from around the world accept this challenge and write funny, thoughtful, frightening or educational stories for that photo prompt. You can read all the stories by clicking the frog. Please show your appreciation by liking, or commenting. And if you want to join the fun, as I understand it, everyone is welcome.

The last few weeks, my entries were happy and up-beat. I challenged myself to try writing a bit darker. Can’t say that I completely succeeded, but it is a bit darker than usual.

silo-has-come
Image © Marie Gail Stratford

2050

“Why can’t we eat the grain in that silo, Mum?”

“It would kill us. Let’s move, it’s not safe here.”

“Where to?”

“North, and then west. Word is there is no contamination there.”

“Can’t we go back to L.A.?”

“Not after the earthquake.”

“I’m hungry. Why is there no food?”

“Can’t be grown here. Look around. Drought, forest fires… Have you forgotten the riots, the chaos, the melt-downs, the dead?”

“No– And there’s food in the north?”

“There’s water, and there are still forests. We could hunt.”

“Will we be welcome?”

“I think so. They are good people, Canadians are.”

(100 words)

contamination
Global risk of radioactive contamination. The map shows the annual probability in percent of radioactive contamination by more than 40 kilobecquerels per square meter. In Western Europe the risk is around two percent per year. © Daniel Kunkel, MPI for Chemistry, 2011 from Probability of contamination from severe nuclear reactor accidents is higher than expected
74 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: 2050

      1. We have a global economic system that keeps half the world in poverty. There is plenty to go around. You say we have to ask ourselves. The problem is, apparently, we don’t have to answer.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I totally agree, but Istill think we do have to answer. We vote for agendas and lobbies. It is clear to see if we want to see it. Problem, as I see it, is that we don’t want to see. Eventually we’ll all have to answer, even if we don’t like the way we’re asked.

          Liked by 1 person

  1. Ah, all those refugees trying to get past the high fences on Canada’s southern border and all those heavily armed Canadian vigilantes out to stop them. Still, they have to try. And try again when they are turned back. Again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Heh. I guess we all are guilty ofthis from time to time. I’ve chuckled about a few things when I visited the US for the first time. And you should hear me ( and all my fellow Germans) brag about our bread and beer… I’ve experienced Canadians as very open and welcoming. Maybe our two friends here are lucky.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, everyone is guilty of such things from time to time. I think every nationality has way good and way bad in them depending on the situation. I’m just going by the comments my Canadian bro-in-law has made.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for that map – there appears to be a very dark area over me 😦

    Great story, I love this genre. I wonder, given the number of refugees there’s likely to be, if Canada’s borders are still open? I can imagine militia manning the border.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I guess it all depends on what will really happen. Refugees are everywhere now, riots will follow and fences won’t help much if only the symptoms, not the cause are treated.
      This is actually just me trying to come up with a backstory for a longer story I’m plotting/writing. There are so many other scenarios… and many more maps, about droughts, floods… I live in central Europe: dark red…
      And thank you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely. We’ll see what they’ll decide with our European/African situation. I’m afraid it will get a lot worse before it gets better(if…). Thank you. 🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you. 🙂 It would depend on the scenario. If there are still flights, it would be an option for rich people. Droughts and fires aren’t getting better in Australia, and their refugee policy isn’t exactly humanitarian, from what I’ve seen in the press.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you. True, it’s not the same thing. I knew many Canadians who were compassionate and very helpful when I was there (especially when compared to my grumpy, fellow Germans), but difficult situations change people.
    I experiment with scenarios for a backstory for a longer piece (many years later)–I try to be at least somewhat realistic. There is a lot of information out there, with good scientific background. If I look at how quickly Fukushima Daiichi turned into complete chaos after the earthquake in 2011–and that plant is by the sea–I wonder how nuclear plants inland can be cooled in cases of severe drought, when rivers run dry and ground water levels sink. Even if they are turned off in time, the heat still builds up for a long time and there’s the danger of melt-down…
    And if I look at the total chaos and helplessness these two earthquakes in Nepal have caused… I look at the quick spread of Ebola… forest fires cannot be stopped quickly if at all… all these may be isolated incidents, but I think they show that we are not in control at all, not well organized, and a larger-scale disaster can quickly escalate. On the other hand, I’m a hopeless optimist and think that we’ll muddle through somehow.
    But enough of the rambling, sorry… I love the discussion for this story, I should try to write darkish more often. 🙂

    Like

  4. I’m a Canadian, and I’m not sure we are as nice as we used to be, unfortunately. I’ve seen a wave of conservatism cross the country that doesn’t bode well for Canada now, let alone in the dystopian future you predict.
    It’s the Americans who want to build a fence across Canada, to keep terrorists out. So bring your barbwire cutters. Used to be the longest undefended border in the world. Sigh.
    PS: I’m from the Maritimes, and we don’t say “eh” — sorry.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. The Maritimes, eh? 😉 I’ve only been to St. Johns for a few weeks, most of my time in Canada was in the West. I see the Eh as a bit of friendly teasing, since most of the Canadians I’ve met say it a lot.
      That conservative, isolationist wave, I’m afraid it’s not only a Canadian thing. Europe as it is now may break up anytime, other countries want to build fences around themselves… Canadians still are good people. 🙂 Just look at the immigration requirements…

      Like

      1. Oh, Canadians are still nice and polite. But the sense of communal and community, that each take care of the other has changed. It’s hard to describe as the speed up of the change in perspective happened during the years I’ve been living in the States.
        As my mother’s caregiver, I was back and forth, then spent almost 2 years there.
        It’s hard to describe the change — something has gone out of the Canadian heart. There is still compassion for the poor of the world, but less compassion for the poor at home.
        I know Canadians do say eh, so tease away. I just always like to ornery and point out that folks in the Maritimes don’t use eh 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Thought-provoking story and comments. Quite a long list of horrors are accumulating in our world – so many things we have to run away from. How much will it take before we stop fencing ourselves up in little separate pockets and start working together to fix it all up?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Precisely. We are all sitting in the same boat/planet, but looking at our actions, you’d think we had twenty to spare. Thank you for joining the discussion. 🙂

      Like

    1. With all these pessimistic outlooks and changes… I read David Suzuki’s blog regularly, and what I read there tells me that Canadians are smart, don’t let themselves be led by their noses, and act when action is required. They are good people. And thank you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Dear GAH,

    It’s fun going through the comments and seeing how many Canadians have commented. We can only hope they will take in this woman and her child. From a writer’s standpoint you did well with this story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Rochelle, thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed the story. Like you, I very much enjoy the conversation in the comments. Maybe I’ll bring Mum and child back in one of the later prompts, iexperimenting with these characters helps me with my back story for my not-quite-a-novel-yet. 😉

      Like

    1. I’d be the first, but I do get a bit long in the tooth, so it’s soon or never for me. 🙂 If we all go at once, they might get a tad surprised… 😉 Thank you.

      Like

    1. Oh, I agree, if millions of people all of a sudden stood at the border, they’d surely get grumpy. Post apocalyptic worlds usually don’t have all that many people left though. Thank you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Seems many of us took a futuristic (and often dark!) turn with this prompt. I hope the Canadians are a welcoming as they are rumored to be. Dark times may have turned their kind nature! Good piece.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. It depends on the scenario, how many people want to come, and how they come into the country, I guess. I have my own scenario in mind, but there sure are others.

      Like

  8. I’m surprised with the nuclear plants in India there isn’t more radiation shown. I think the air in Canada is cleaner. They’re been quite concerned about it for a number of years. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wind and weather will play a role, and an unlucky place without plants can also be contaminated, but I’m not an expert. The map shows possible scenarios, doesn’t (hopefully) have to happen. But as we saw in Fukushima, when things happen, they never happen as expected. Thank you. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

