Share Your World Week 19

Just that. I’m tired, but I want to go through with Share Your World this year, and Fridays seem the days to do it for me. I’m having a very busy time at the moment, so there won’t be any more chatter. Onwards…

Would you prefer a one floor house or multiple levels?

We have a house with multiple levels, and I like it. However, I’ve seen how our parents, when they got older, had difficulties with the stairs, and the way the stairs are built, attaching a stair elevator would be difficult. If I bought a house now, it would probably be a one floor house, just to be able to live as long and independent in the house as possible. It has to have a basement though.

If you have a TV, would you prefer the TV in the living room or another room?

I don’t have a TV, but several computers. We watch movies on the computers. There’s one in the living room and one in the bedroom/office which is most often used for watching movies. I don’t really care much either way. I take the laptop and sit down and watch where I like, if I feel like it. I like the freedom this gives me.

When you leave a room, do you turn the lights off behind you or keep the lights on throughout your house most of the time? Explain your answer.

I always turn the lights off. I live in Germany and that’s what we do here, have been doing here as far back as I can think. When I lived in Canada, I was somewhat surprised and a bit shocked to see so many people leaving the taps on, the lights on, cranking up the heat so they can run around half naked in winter. I wear socks and sweaters, always turn off the taps, always turn off the light. It’s an environmental thing, and it’s a money thing.

What’s your favorite room in your home?

I have favourite places to sit, but not really a favourite room. The sofa, cuddling the cat. A comfortable chair for reading. A quiet corner in the garden, and right now my bed which is calling to me loudly.

Good night. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Share Your World Week 19

  1. I turn off lights behind each of the men in my house! Drives me nuts. They are pretty good about turning off the water – most times. Sigh…
    Everyone complains it’s too cold in my house in the winter – we just wear sweaters!
    Oh, and I’m from Montréal… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess things have changed quite a bit since I’ve first come to Canada, I’ve been away for a long time now, too. Gas prices are very high compared to Canadian prices, more than half of it are taxes. I guess that makes the saving a bit more urgent.
      I’ve snooped around on your blog and saw… I’ve never been to Quebec, or most places in the East, but I know people from all over the place. Montréal must be a great place to live. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh I am sure there are those who waste electricity and water.
        Our gas is way more expensive than the US but I’ve heard they are scary in Europe.
        I love Quebec (but not the politics). I live on the south shore of Montreal and wouldn’t think of leaving!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

