Friday Fictioneers: Singing The Blues

I’ve cought a bug of some kind and have been kind of brain-dead over our long weekend here. That’s why I haven’t read and reviewed many stories. I’m very sorry, will try to catch up.

This week seems to have been the week of re-blogging for me. What a good thing that it is Wednesday and time again for a new drabble for the Friday Fictioneers. This pushes me into actually writing something, and not just telling you about things I read elsewhere.

The prompt, as always, is provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields who challenges us to write a complete story in 100 words or less with beginning, middle, and end. You can read all the stories by clicking the frog. Please show your appreciation by liking, or commenting. And if you want to join the fun, everyone is welcome.

ff_santoshwriter-1
Image © Santoshwriter

 Singing The Blues

The berries peek through the foliage in a rich, deep blue. They’re as blue as your gap-toothed smile was when we stuffed ourselves with blueberries. We were children together. We survived the war. You loved me.

Did you know that some sunsets on Mars are blue? Other planets, space travel, the stars–your enthusiasm for everything space-related was so contagious, it’s become one of my interests, too. We were adults together. We spent a lifetime together. Now you left me.

I’m all alone, and my mood is blue. The raindrops on the leaves glisten like my tears. Wait for me.

(100 words)

pia19401-main_sunset
Image credit: NASA
47 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Singing The Blues

    1. Thank you. You know, now that you say it, I see that possibility, too. I love the different interpretations of readers. In my mind, this was just the story of an old couple, but on rereading… there’s space for different things.

      Like

    1. You know, I know so little about poetry, that I didn’t even realize that this could be considered a poem. It just sounded somewhat right in my mind. I’m glad you enjoyed it, thank you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. That is so sad. Funny until you mentioned it I had not even noticed the blue berries in the photo. I love “your gap toothed smiled.” A life time of love. I imagine it is hard after that lifetime to be the one that is left with all those lovely memories, still talking to the absent partner.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wondered if these were blueberries, but on closer look found that the shape of berries and leaves didn’t fit, just the colour. By then the blueberries had settled in my mind and wanted to be used. My friends and I ran around with blue smiles when we were kids, I guess all kids who know how to pick blueberries look like this. 🙂 Thank you for your kind words, I’m glad you liked the story.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Although sad, this story was lovely, Gah. It included the feelings of a lifetime. Well done. Don’t worry about not getting as much done as you wanted. We all have ups and downs in our lives and other duties to perform. We do what we can. I’m fighting computer internet problems a lot of the time. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Suzanne, I’m glad you liked it. I know, we can’t always keep up, but I feel it’s my loss, because I like and admire the writers of this group and always look forward to read their response to the prompt. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

