Friday Fictioneers: Empathy

I’ve been somewhat under the weather over the long weekend, and didn’t do much posting, or reviewing, sorry about that. Now that my bug has been defeated, I feel fit and eager to jump right in with another Friday Fictioneers 100 word challenge. As always, the challenge is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields on her Addicted to Purple site.

This image spoke to me right away. I’ve been reading about the topic on the news last week and added a few links.

You can read all the stories by clicking the frog. Please show your appreciation by liking, or commenting. And if you want to join the fun, everyone is welcome.

Image by Doug McIlroy
Image © Douglas M. MacIlroy

 Empathy

How dare they put our brother on display like this? They shall pay.
They scraped flesh from bones until nothing but metal remained. They extracted his delicate brain, ripped the actuator out of his chest. The wondrous mixture of living tissue, processor crystals and memory alloys: destroyed. They shall regret this.
He was perfect. Adapted to life in our oceans, he researched its depths, learned from experience, shared knowledge. They hunted him down.
They wanted us to be like them. And so we are. But unlike them, we understand. We learn, we feel.
They are the problem. They shall die.

(100 words)


I am, at the same time, excited, fascinated, and horrified by the developments on the robotics and AI front. Knowing human greed for wealth and power, I don’t see how this can end well. Even if my stories suggest otherwise, I’m saddened by these projections. I think we belong into this world, but we urgently need to get our act together.

Here are some links, only the first one is in German.

http://www.faz.net/aktuell/wirtschaft/stephen-hawking-prophezeit-den-super-computer-13607146.html?printPagedArticle=true#pageIndex_2

http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/ai-expert-nick-bostrom-machine-super-intelligence-will-have-no-off-switch-1498945

DeepMind’s Demis Hassabis is setting up an ethics board inside Google to consider dangers of AI

http://www.bbc.com/news/business-29461616

http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/deepmind-develops-first-ai-capable-learning-tasks-independently-1489571

 
 Featured Terminator image by: John Lawlor, Creative Commons License
73 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Empathy

    1. Dear Rochelle, it might rule. And maybe not. There are other visions: we enslave them, they enslave us, we never manage to get them to be self-conscious, we come up wth a roboter code… just being aware of what’s going on is helpful, I think. Thank you for your kind review.

      Like

    1. I’m glad you like, thanks for reviewing. 🙂
      The theme: I’ve been playing with themes a lot (not willing to get a payed theme atm) and found Twentyfourteen to be the most adaptable one. You can do so many things with it… which shows, since many people use it. 🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you, Alicia. Sometimes it just works out that way. I’ve been sitting in front of pictures, too, racking my brain… but it will come. Isn’t that one of the magical moments in writing? You know that an idea will come, sooner or later, and it does. I’m looking forward to yours.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I think robots are good to have when the workplace is dangerous and people don’t have to be exposed to dangerous substances, work in mines, do very boring repetitive stuff–as long as these people still have other sources of income.

      Like

    1. Thank you. Yes, they could be one huge network. It depends on how much individuality would evolve in a self-conscious machine, though. Actually, I find the idea of an army of individuals who are AIs even scarier.

      Like

    1. Thank you! 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed it. I hope it won’t have to be dealt with during my lifetime… I’m not following that research regularly and was surprised to learn how far that has come already.

      Like

  1. Love the story. Interesting that it is the AI that we side with in this piece rather than what I presume to be the human (they act like humans which is the really scary part.) I saw a great film (can’t remember the name) where people were falling in love with their operating system. I think I just fell in love with your sea-adapted AI.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I saw that movie, too. It’s “Her” with Scarlett Johansson’s voice, isn’t it?
      I find it a very interesting progression that AI goes through.
      And, I can’t think of a nicer compliment than your loving my robot character. Thank you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love robot stories, and this one didn’t disappoint. A great idea with a really apt title. I shall go back and look at your links, too. Have you read Daniel H. Wilson’s ‘Robopocalypse’ and the sequel ‘Robogenesis’? I’ve just started the sequel after reading the first some time ago. I’m not keen on the titles, but the stories are intriguing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! No, I haven’t read these books, I’m not that knowledgeable about robots and AI, it just came up on the news and I wanted to know more. As a SciFi fan, I have of course a general interest in everything related. I’ll check the books out, thanks for the rec.

      Like

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you could find something you liked in the story. I like many genres, but what I like the most is playing with viewpoints, and trying to think like someone completely different. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Very original take, Gah. Have you seen “Ex Machina” by any chance?Way disturbing. It could be doomsday for us. Those machines will rule the world, especially if they start to feel and empathize. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. No, I haven’t seen that film, but I’ll check it out, thanks for the rec. There’s hope that maybe, if machines can empathize, they get some understanding for us, too. 🙂 (I hope).

      Like

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you found the links interestin. Somewhere I read that AIs should be constructed to be like us in order to not be a danger. I find that a bit too optimistic, we do kill each other with a vengeance… feelings or not.

      Like

  4. Very interesting! Your story got me thinking….

    I was very surprised recently to hear that Bill Gates is concerned about potential dangers of AI capabilities. One of your links pointed out that Google is setting up an ethics board–a very, very good thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I don’t know if it’s just me or if everybody else encountering problems with your blog.
    It appears as if some of the text within your posts are running off the
    screen. Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is
    happening to them as well? This could be a problem with my web browser
    because I’ve had this happen before. Many thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

