Share Your World Weeks 20 and 21

041514-sywbannerI missed posting my weekly Share Your World post last week, thus there’ll be two this week. I’m going through with this… 😀

Thank you, Cee, for the interesting questions. Check her site out, there is a lot to see, and participate in.

Onwards to the questions:

Share Your World Week 20

What is the most important thing that you ever learned? (I bet it’s not something you learned in school)

The most important thing I learned is that you can only rely on yourself, on loved ones, and on close friends. Career may be important, but if you put your workplace before your personal interests and your loved ones, you’re in for a bad awakening when something tragical or unexpected happens to you in your private life. Your employers might feign sympathy, but most of them don’t really care, nor help. It’s your closest social contacts that help you. I’ve learned that early in my career, maybe that’s why I never made one.

What feeds your enthusiasm for life? 

That would be life itself in all its facets, as well as the universe, and everything–all the wonders it presents. I’m not religious, my idea of purpose in life is to live it as well as I can as long as I have it. Apart from that, I can’t be certain about anything.

640px-Mtcook1600x1200
«Mtcook1600x1200» av Dynabee – Photographed by Author. Lisensiert under CC BY-SA 3.0 gjennom Wikimedia Commons – http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Mtcook1600x1200.jpg#/media/File:Mtcook1600x1200.jpg

What’s your most memorable (good or bad) airplane commercial or private flight?

When I was young, I worked in New Zealand for a few months. Of course I used every spare minute (and business trips) to see as much of the country as I could. I had that flight from Christchurch to Queenstown where only three people were on the plane, and the flight attendants. It was a propeller airplane, a glorious, sunny day, and the pilot decided to fly a bit closer to the mountains than usual. We had the best view on the southern alps, could walk from window to window, and would all ooh and ahh. The flight attendants had a lot of fun, too. This was before 911, and with the German Wings crash I doubt that any trustworthy pilot would risk this today, but back then I thought it was great and loved every minute of it.

If you were a great explorer, what would you explore?

Space, the final frontier. 🙂 I would have loved to spend some time on the ISS or other space station, but am afraid that I’m getting too old, even if they get a private space program reliable enough to actually fly with it. By the time it’s cheap enough for us priviledged ‘poor’ to use, I’ll most likely push my walker–or the daisies.

Share Your World Week 21

This week, Cee came up with a “new way of doing Share Your World for this Week.  Begin making four lists and have at least four items on each list.”

Here are my lists:

Favorite flowers (or plants)

This isn't mine, but we have one just like it. „Paeonia officinalis 002“ von H. Zell - Eigenes Werk. Lizenziert unter CC BY-SA 3.0 über Wikimedia Commons - http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Paeonia_officinalis_002.JPG#/media/File:Paeonia_officinalis_002.JPG
This isn’t mine, but we have one just like it.
„Paeonia officinalis 002“ von H. Zell – Eigenes Werk. Lizenziert unter CC BY-SA 3.0 über Wikimedia Commons – http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Paeonia_officinalis_002.JPG#/media/File:Paeonia_officinalis_002.JPG
  1. Paeonia
  2. Roses
  3. Lilac
  4. Tulips
  5. Hortensia
  6. (all plants)

Favorite types of animals

  1. My pets Maia the dog and Mikka the cat
  2. Whales and dolphins
  3. Wolves
  4. Cats
  5. Elephants
  6. Bears
  7. All animals

Movies to cheer you up

  1. Shrek
  2. The Pride and Prejudice mini series from the 90ies (with Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy)
  3. Mamma Mia
  4. The Jungle Book (original Disney version)
  5. Mary Poppins
  6. and many other movies, esp. Disney movies

Things I want to have in my home (paintings, hot tubs, book cases, big screen tv etc)

  1. Good art prints from Franz Marc
  2. Some original Jugenstil furniture
  3. A solar-heated winter garden
  4. A room full with bookcases (with glass doors) filled with books

This is all the Fancy Friday for this week.

5 thoughts on “Share Your World Weeks 20 and 21

    1. Yeah, and even if we make it to 2063, I’m afraid there will be no Vulcans to invite us to the Federation of Planets… too bad. We’ll have to travel in our imagination, then. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

