Friday Fictioneers: Sign Language

I pledgeI start to sound like a broken record, but I’ve been so busy last week that I couldn’t manage to read and comment on half as many Friday Fictioneer stories as I wanted. Work is very demanding at the moment, and that kept me from relaxing enough to write blog posts, or comments. I barely managed to read some posts, and there have been so many very interesting posts these last two weeks. Sigh. Maybe I should have postponed this blogging thing until I retire…

But enough of this. I do love Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ Friday Fictioneers challenge and kicked myself into writing something.

You will find all the stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

kent
Image © Kent Bonham

Sign Language

“I wouldn’t go there if I were you, kid…”

Matt spun around, fumbling for the jackknife in his pocket. A heavily armed old woman stood in front of him, he hadn’t heard her coming.

“But the garlic…?”

“A trap. Bloodsuckers hang it up. Want you to think they’re done here, but they’ll come back. Always. We gotta run.”

“Why should I trust you?”

“You’re alive, aren’t you? Come, quickly.”

The old woman ushered him to another building and down a trapdoor Matt hadn’t noticed.

“You’re safe now. No dinner for them tonight.”

For the first time in weeks, Matt relaxed.

(100 words)

Francisco_de_Goya,_Saturno_devorando_a_su_hijo_(1819-1823)Featured image: "Francisco de Goya, Saturno devorando a su hijo (1819-1823)" by Francisco Goya - [1]. Licensed under Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons - https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Francisco_de_Goya,_Saturno_devorando_a_su_hijo_(1819-1823).jpg#/media/File:Francisco_de_Goya,_Saturno_devorando_a_su_hijo_(1819-1823).jpg
39 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Sign Language

  1. Dear GAH,

    Never wait until retirement to do what you love. You’ll just have more time to do it when you do. I know about work demands. As retirement looms large on my horizon I look forward to more writing and marketing time. .

    Good story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Rochelle, as you see, I didn’t wait. 🙂 I’ve always thought that things should be done now, when you can, not postponed, and experience sadly proved me right in some cases when people passed away too early. But time really is a factor sometimes, and blogging is not really a passion. Writing has become one, and since blogging helps me writing, I guess I’ll stick around.
      Glad you liked the story, thank you.

      Like

  2. I don’t trust that lady and Matt shouldn’t either. But it seems he has already made a choice. I hope he doesn’t stick with his choice.
    Oh! I’m so glad that you didn’t wait till retirement to start blogging. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

