Share Your World: Weeks 24 and 25

041514-sywbannerI know, I know, it’s week 26 already, but I’ve just been too busy and stressed out to post much. But I still want to go through with this, call me stubborn. 🙂

So, here is week 24 of  Cee’s Share Your World Challenge

What’s your favorite charitable cause and why?  

I do not like charities. I don’t like the need for them. I think a state that is worth its name should be able to provide for its inhabitants’ needs, people are different, everyone has different talents, not all of these talents get you a lot of money, people get sick, things happen, people need help. And animals, and the environment. I’m lucky enough to live in a country that provides for its people in most of these events, has the prevention of cruelty to animals set in its constitution and does a lot for the environment. Still, my naive ideas are far from reality, and there are so many people who need help beyond that, my country isn’t perfect considering the treatment of animals nor the environment either, there are refugees, many other people in need, so many animals that aren’t treated well… And so, I guess, charities are still needed, although I’d much rather collect the money from criminals like corrupt politicians, terrorists, tax evasive companies… there, dreaming again. In the meantime part of my country’s wealth comes from weapon deals… sigh.

Research, especially medical research, should not need donations, alas, it does…

I usually support urgent cases, like after a big earthquake. I somewhat regularly support Greenpeace, Amnesty International, The WWF, the local SPCA, and Doctors Without Borders.  I’m usually rather suspicious about how much of the donations actually go to the people/animal/places that need it. I don’t completely trust any of them, but I think most work very hard to help.

I never give anything when someone asks directly, on the doorstep, in a mall, on a blog, on facebook etc. I want to be somewhat informed about a charity and chose where I give.

What color do you feel most comfortable wearing?

Black, blue and dark green.

If you had your own talk show, who would your first three guests be? (guest can be dead, alive, famous or someone you just know)

This is tough, I don’t like talk shows and very seldom watch them. Maybe someone from Greenpeace, Shell and Monsanto… I wouldn’t have to say much then, I guess. 😉

List:  What are at least five places you’ve enjoyed visiting?

  1. Dubrovnik, and Croatia in general.
  2. Auckland, and all of New Zealand.
  3. Vancouver Island
  4. Lisbon, and other parts of Portugal
  5. The Dordogne region in France

I’ve enjoyed many other places I visited, but these five stand out.

Onwards to week 25

What did you or did not like about the first apartment you ever rented?

The first apartment was a flat I shared with two other young women during our years at university. We were all biology hopefuls and had a lot of fun. The flat was simple, had three rooms, kitchen and bathroom, wasn’t well insulated, but it was cheap. We didn’t have a washing machine nor a telephone nor a car. We were poor, but we managed to have good parties, people liked coming to our place.

What kind of art is your favorite? Why?

Paintings, sculputures, all visual art. When I was a kid, I did a lot of drawing, a bit of painting, and crafting. But  I was neither good nor tenacious enough to make more of it than a hobby. Later I didn’t have enough time to pursue it, but I still enjoy looking at art. I get quite mad when people make negative comments about art they don’t understand. The kind of comment like “my three-year-old could have painted that.” Well, guess what, the three-year-old didn’t, but the artist did. Technique and skills are important in art, they are valuable tools, but without ideas, without a spark of inspiration, you only copy and don’t create.

Despite reading like an addict since I was five, I never considered writing to be an art. My bad. Maybe it just was so much part of my world that I always considered it a necessity of life. Of course writing is an art, and of course I enjoy it very much, now more that I write a bit myself than earlier when I read more. I don’t know how much knowing more about an art form affects the enjoyment of it. I used to devour books, one after the other, without much thought about the technique of the writer. Now it can happen that I pause and analyze how the writer wrote that special scene with great effect, or find that something isn’t working well… I still enjoy my reading, but it’s very different from the past.

I also like music, but don’t know much nor understand much about it. I listen to what I like, which can be anything from Beethoven to Taylor Swift.

Dance, ballet, I like that, too. I don’t know anything about it.

Watching good actors perform, in whatever medium, I also find enjoyable.

How many siblings do you have? What’s your birth order?

None.

Complete this sentence:  I’m dreaming of a white …. (and no you can’t use Christmas as your answer)

Dame Blanche ice cream because it’s hot and supposed to getting even hotter through the week.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful for the stressful situation at work being resolved finally which will give me more time to relax and focus on the fun things in life again, like reading, and writing blog posts. 😉

2 thoughts on “Share Your World: Weeks 24 and 25

Leave a Reply

