Friday Fictioneers: Mum’s Pride and Joy

It is Wednesday again, it is hot, and there is another photo prompt for the Friday Fictioneers, graciously hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. You will find all the stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

cars-in-sand
Image © Jean L. Hays

Mum’s Pride and Joy

“This car there, it stares at me. Let me go. I’m off.”

Kari ran. She had felt uncomfortable on the old junkyard right from the beginning. These half-buried, graffiti-ed cars gave her the creeps.

“But Baby…” Dustin stared after her.

“That was a disappointment,” a low voice rumbled.

“You try next time.” Dustin sat down among the three cars.

“Stupid girl, she won’t find more beautiful trolls than my sons on this side of the atlantic.”

Mum was always so supportive. Dustin smiled and morphed back into his natural car form. Modern trolls don’t need rocks to feel at home.

(100 words)


"John Bauer 1915" by John Bauer - Illustration of Walter Stenström's The boy and the trolls or The Adventure in childrens' anthology Among pixies and trolls, a collection of childrens' stories, 1915.. Licensed under Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons - https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:John_Bauer_1915.jpg#/media/File:John_Bauer_1915.jpg
Featured Image: Licensed under Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons – https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:John_Bauer_1915.jpg#/media/File:John_Bauer_1915.jpg
"Look at them," troll mother said. "Look at my sons! You won't find more beautiful trolls on this side of the moon."  John Bauer - Illustration of Walter Stenström's The boy and the trolls or The Adventure in childrens' anthology Among pixies and trolls, a collection of childrens' stories, 1915.
38 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Mum’s Pride and Joy

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you liked it. I admit I know nothing about John Bauer, I was just looking for license free pictures of trolls and fell in love with this one immediately. 🙂 I want to read that book, though, it will probably be on Gutenberg.org — and I’ll check out more of his pictures.

      Like

  1. While I feel rather sorry for the troll mother and her son, I feel glad the girl knew something was wrong. Next time he better look for a troll girl. That’s a lovely illustration, Gah. Great take on the prompt. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. 🙂 Yes, I think a troll girl would appreciate his good looks.
      I love these old illustrations in children’s books. I love good illustrations in general, LOL.

      Like

Leave a Reply

