Share Your World Weeks #27 and #28

I didn’t get around to doing last week’s Share Your World challenge, too much work… so it’s two weeks in one post, again.

On Friday, I have my 1-year-bloggoversity. I’ll have a longer post about the past year then, and will make some changes to what the blog is all about–again. It’s a constantly changing thing, my blog. I also keep looking for another theme, but so far I couldn’t find another one that has so many options as 2014, even though it is more practical than elegant. I guess I’ll make a few minor tweaks and stick with it for the time being. But enough of that. Onwards to Cee Neuner’s Share Your World Week 27:

1. What is your favorite month of the year?

I can’t decide. And so I steal draliman‘s idea and go through it month by month.

I like January, because it’s my birthday month, and I like winter. Everything is new, new plans, resolutions that won’t be kept… and the days get longer again. I do like February because it is the shortest month and the element of leap years adds interest. Besides, it usually is the high time of carnival around here, and although I’m not much into that, there is often something interesting to see. March–spring is just around the corner, what could be better than that? And there is an equinox. April–spring hopefully proceeds, there’s often Easter in this month, which means nice traditions and free days for me, what’s not to like? May–Almost my favourite, because so many of my favourite flowers bloom. Everything grows, new growth has that fresh, unspoilt green colour, strawberries and asparagus… June–summer is here, radishes, lettuce, strawberries, asparagus… early veggies, raspberries and currants… there’s a solstice, and around June 24 (St. John, namesake of St. John’s wort which flowers around that time)–trees around here have their second growth spurt. You can see the colour difference, light green fresh growth, and darker older shoots. July–often holidays, often hot, sometimes not. Summer flowers set the garden ablaze, the first cucumbers, tomatoes, courgettes… I shouldn’t think about eating so much… August: More of July, but with a slightly melancholy feel, because days are already getting noticeably shorter, and the summer is on its way out, even if it doesn’t look like it yet. September: A lovely month with calm, high and deep blue skies (usually). Still summery, but fall is also showing its presence. And another equinox. October: Everything is quieting down, but then, there’s the wine. Vineyards are busy; in most years the leaves change their colour beautifully, it’s preparation time for winter, and enjoyment of all that which summer has given. November: I like the short, grey, often foggy days. Nature is packing in, and that can be interesting to watch. Fog covers everything with a slight blur, it’s nice to go inside and get something nice and warm to drink. December: Ideally there’s snow (seldom where I live), there’s another solstice, there’s Christmas, another tradition I like, parties, new year’s eve… and the end of the dark days.

Do you drink coffee at all? I drink coffee all day. Just plain, percolated coffee, not very strong. I don’t like the fancy, flavoured types. I do like cappuccino or latte on occasion, or an espresso or ‘tasse’ after dinner, depending on where I am. Plain coffee, for me, is staple.

What was one of your first moneymaking jobs (other than babysitting or newspaper delivery)?

I tutored in math (some basic geometry) for a few months as an older highschool student. This got me enough money to get on a trip to Hamburg with my class. Later I worked in a clothing factory for a few weeks, that got me the money for another trip to a marine biology institute in Croatia, another class outing.

List:  If you play video/computer games list 5 games you like? 

Very, very seldom. Never video games. I might have liked them if they had been around when I was younger, but now I find it too much hassle to get into it. I simply don’t have the time. I play

  • two dots and
  • a bubble shooting game

on the ipad from time to time. I love two dots, it gives you five lives, and after that you have to wait for a few hours to regain the lives. That puts an automatic stop to too much playing.


Are you still with me? Here’s Share Your World Week #28

What is your favorite comfort snack food?

Potato chips, or crisps. If I’m not stopped by the presence of other people, I can eat the contents of a whole bag in one go.

If you had to spend one weekend alone in a single store but could remove nothing, which store would you pick? (except food or beverage)

A furniture store. I’d try the mattresses, chose one, and catch up on all the sleep I’ve been missing lately.

What was the largest city you have been to?  What is the one thing you remember most?

I guess that would have been Singapore. I remember many things, I visited a friend and that was nice. But what impressed me very much was the mixture of the many cultures, and the glimpses of jungle I got when hiking with my friend, and the zoo and botanical garden.

Finish this sentence:  It has recently come to my attention that ….

New Horizons flies by Pluto today. Isn’t that exciting? I’m looking forward to the pictures.

6 thoughts on “Share Your World Weeks #27 and #28

  1. You may have borrowed my month idea but I love how you have something positive to say about every month. I seem to recall I was the opposite 🙂
    A whole day on a quality mattress sounds ideal!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

