Friday Fictioneers: Photographs and Memories

I pledgeOnce again it’s time for the Friday Fictioneers and their collection of imaginative flash fiction based on a picture prompt that has been provided, as every week, by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. You can find all the stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

dijon
Image © Sandra Crook

Photographs and Memories

Last night I dreamt of home.

Waking up far too late again, I glance at my photograph of the toits bourguignons, Dijon’s multicoloured roof tiles. One of these tiles leans against the wall next to the picture. That’s all I can afford to take with me: a keepsake. Space allowance is limited, as is mass.

Glancing out of the window I see bright stars, black sky, and Mars. Four more days and we’ll be there. Forever. For the future. For humankind.

Why am I here? Only twenty-six days* in space and I am homesick already. There is no going back.

* The trip from Earth to Mars would take seven months with current technology. However, if the problems with the fusion drive can be solved, travel time could be reduced to thirty days.

The title comes from Jim Croce’s song “Photographs and Memories.” The YouTube file doesn’t belong to me and is probably illegal somewhere. Enjoy while it lasts.

Featured image: "Mars Direct Base Art 001" by Doctorheredoctor - Own work. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons - https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Mars_Direct_Base_Art_001.png#/media/File:Mars_Direct_Base_Art_001.png
72 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Photographs and Memories

    1. Thank you! Yes, that is a difficult question. In a technological civilization you wouldn’t need to take books, videos and picture albums. I guess many people would want to have something to touch, or smell perhaps.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. If we had that fusion drive, travelling within the solar system wouldn’t be so difficult any longer (apart from other factors like radiation, physiological changes and whatnot 😉 ) Thank you!

      Like

  1. I love where you took this. Very well written. I love the “extras” too, both the artwork and the song. Jim Croce is from my era; I’ve always enjoyed his music, and that is such a poignant song.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I was basically mirroring my feelings when I went abroad on my own for the first time. I sat in the plane to the other end of the world (and I did have a return ticket), and thought, ‘What have I done?’ It was horrible for a while, but then it was wonderful.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I always wanted to go into orbit or on a space station, have a few turns, and then go back, like very rich people could do for a while. I’m getting too old for it though. And Thank you!

      Like

    1. Thank you! It could turn out very well, or already be an established colony, but homesickness can strike unexpectedly. For most people abroad I’ve met ( and me) it lasted three months and then the fun started. 🙂

      Like

    1. 😀 Won’t be me either. But, if there was an established colony, and a travel-time in weeks, not months, and a return ticket (and I twenty years younger) I would consider a visit. Thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

