Friday Fictioneers: Moondance

Another Wednesday, another prompt from Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for the Friday Fictioneers. She challenges us to tell a story in 100 words or less with beginning, middle, and end. This one came quickly.

You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

Image prompt © Madison Woods

Moondance

Look, the moon is saying goodbye.”

“Yup. Got regrets?”

“No. You?”

“Nope. It’s what I want. To go to Mars. With you.”

“Me, too. But, you know, they treated me like chattel. Like a prize cow–stop laughing.”

“Do you have second thoughts about kids?”

“No, but is that a reason to ask me all these questions? Instead of focusing on what *I*can bring to the colony… it was all about having babies, and being pretty. I was surprised they didn’t check my teeth.”

“Good to know I married a healthy breeder—ow, don’t hit me.”

“Idiot. Kiss me.”

(100 words)

The title comes from here:


6945176158_712c8fa025_oFeatured image:
Author: Playing Futures: Applied Nomadology
Author URL: https://www.flickr.com/people/centralasian/
Title: [ C ] Marc Chagall – Coq Rouge dans la Nuit (1944)
Year:2012
Source: Flickr, Source URL: https://www.flickr.com
License: Creative Commons Attribution License
License Url: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/, License Shorthand:CC-BY

64 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Moondance

    1. Maybe they wait with having childrenuntil after they are there. Being pregnant on a spacecraft and giving birth there… would be very uncomfortable, and dangerous. I’m glad you liked the story, thank you. 🙂

      Like

  1. I was thrilled to open your page and find we had not only used the same title, but the same Van Morrison video as well. How cool is that? I loved your mushy little tale, especially the line about checking her teeth. It had me grinning from ear to ear.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Well I suppose we will never know unless you write more about it. That is one thing I don’t like about the little bits of stories in flash fiction. I did a few as serial stories using prompts. Then I hit a roadblock with one and stopped.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you, Tessa. Most of my contributions to the FF are actually backstory snippets to a longer story I write. So, the baby issue may show up again if there is a picture that fits. I like the way I can explore this in small snippets, this can all be part of my backstory ‘bible’ without having to go anywhere else. It helps me figure out where my characters and plot came from.

          Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess colonists who want to become self-sufficient would have to make certain that people actually want to have children (and are able to), if they settle there. Thank you.

      Like

  2. This reminds me of the volunteers they’re sending to Mars – the Mars 100 group. I had to look it up now! (http://www.mars-one.com/) It was this story I heard on the radio. In it, they asked the woman if that meant she would never have kids. And her response was that she hoped she’d find love. Even with such a huge endeavor ahead, love was still a possibility and hope. Great take and story, Gah.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I know about them. But I think they are on a suicide mission. But of course you’re right, NASA, ESA et al. are also very active where sending people to Mars is concerned, but they take it step by step, with colonization in mind, and love will always be a factor. Eventually there will be the first child born offworld–unless we blow our planet up in the meantime.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great dialogue. I hope all the colonists are as sane and optimistic as these two. They’re so down-to-earth. (That phrase could take on a whole new meaning on a Mars colony, couldn’t it?)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ah, sci-fi! I actually sat down and ‘planned’ a space colony once (for a sci-fi story) and the very mechanical focus on ‘breeding’ (both restricting it and encouraging it) was a big component of this.

    I like how you’ve taken this idea of ‘colonist as a breeder’ and boiled it down into a very personal perspective. It works very well.

    Cheers
    KT

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you think it works. I’m always interested in learning how other writers do their research/background info. I’ve been sitting down and calculating populations, too. How many do I have to send, how many children can they have, should they have… and so on. I found a good paper that deals with how many people would have to be sent on a spacecraft to colonize a planet in another solar system to avoid genetic drift and have enough variety to maintain a healthy population despite major or minor catastrophes. And then there is the question, how do you feed them and keep them healthy. This is fun! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

