Friday Fictioneers: Frame of Reference

Normally, I’m happy to get one story done for the Friday Fictioneers. This week, I liked the picture–and the stories of my fellow fictioneers–so much, that two stories wanted out. So, here is my première: a second short piece for the picture prompt. Here is the link up to all the other stories:

Frame of Reference

demolition-4
Image © C.E.Ayr

Shelly had asked me, voice thick with tears, to keep her company while an old building in the neighbourhood was about to be torn down. The building had a beautiful mural: killer whales frolicking in the sea–but none of it would be preserved. Shelly had grown up in that neighbourhood, she needed her best friend to help her through the demolition of childhood.

As we sat and watched the wrecking, I told Shelly about my grandmother’s house. It had been in the family for two hundred years. One bomb, and everything was gone.

Shelly blew her nose and smiled.

(100 words)


11.09.2009 - Ressort: stadt: Nach der Zerstörung:Der Schutt  ist beiseitegeräumt, die Straßenbahn fährt wieder, doch wohnen wird hier so schnell niemand mehr – so wie am Kapellplatz sah es in ganz Darmstadt aus. Das von einem US-Soldaten aufgenommene Foto entstand in Höhe des heutigen LGG-Hauptgebäudes mit Blick zur Mühlstraße; die Gleise führen zum Roßdörfer Platz.Foto: Sammlung Hauck21.08.2004: (stadt) Nichts als Ruinen: Auch dieses (noch nie gezeigte) Bild mit dem Blick vom Kapellplatz hinauf zur Mühlstraße wurde von dem oben erwähnten US-Soldaten aufgenommen. Foto: Sammlung Hauck // 11.09.2006: (stadt) Nichts als Trümmer blieben nach dem 11. September von der Darmstädter Innenstadt und den angrenzenden Wohnvierteln übrig. Hier der Blick vom Kapellplatz auf die Mühlstraße. Archivfoto: Sammlung Hauck

Featured Image: „Kapellplatz Darmstadt 1944“ von US-Soldat im Dienst – Echo Online / Sammlung Hauck. Lizenziert unter Gemeinfrei über Wikimedia Commons – https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Kapellplatz_Darmstadt_1944.jpg#/media/File:Kapellplatz_Darmstadt_1944.jpg — representing destuction everywhere, justified, or not.

26 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Frame of Reference

  1. This is fantastic. I especially love the smile after the bomb story that somehow works. I feel like you took a hammer to some clichés in 100 words which is no joke.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As another commentator said, sweet and sad. But I liked the ending, actually you got me not knowing what to think really, when you say that the grandmother´s house just with one bomb and it was gone after being there for 200 years I was thinking that´s probably a reference to the A bomb dropped Hiroshima, but why did Shelly smiled at that reference?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, there’s a tiny bit of family history in Europe. Part of my family lived in Croatia. They had moved there in the 1700dreds. One bomb on the farm house in WW2, direct hit, and it was gone. One of my aunts was killed. Many lives and houses were destroyed in the bombings. And this goes on and on… you don’t need an A-bomb for that. And thank you for your kind comments. 🙂

      Like

          1. I don´t expect people to follow me. Never started the blog to get followers, actually I started to read other people. As I call wordpress, is my free online university. You name it I follow it and read it as much as I can when time permits. I even have picked quite a few things about photography which is another thing I would like to pursue in the near future. The following really is not my priority, although is nice that people would actually read my nutty things that´s for sure. Who would have thought of that, not me when I started I know that much. And the writing and poetry thing, I just started 2 years ago to writing, and the poetry I just pick little things here and there from reading other people, but have no clue as to structures nor names of certain ways of writing. I get a comment saying this phrase was a great …..and they give me the technical name, then I have to go to google as to what in the world they´re telling me.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I hear you, but I’m following anyway. I like to talk to people, it’s one of the reasons I’m blogging. Meeting so many people who write in different genres is educational, interesting and fun. And I also like to learn about (far too many) other topics. I have absolutely no background in writing, but I did dabble in fan fiction for a few years and learned a lot (most importantly to get criticised and see how that can improve the writing). And by now I’ve been Community-TA for an online writing course on coursera. We all learn things as we go.

              Liked by 1 person

    2. Oh, and Shelly smiled because she understood what the narrator tried to say to comfort her. Sometimes places are taken away forcefully, and that may have put her sadness into perspective.

      Like

Leave a Reply

