Again late: Share your World Weeks #33 and #34

041514-sywbannerAnd it’s already week #35. I’m overwhelmed with work at work, at the moment, and with zucchini and tomatoes at home. And when I have time, I’m too tired to do anything except for reading a bit. I horribly lag behind with reviews for the Friday Fictioneers as well. Usually I can write a post or a few reviews at lunch break (like now) — but that isn’t a given, there’s too much going on. Hopefully things will get back to normal in two or three weeks.

Long story short, here are my answers for both weeks, #33 and 34.

Week #33

What are some words that just make you smile?

Most of the words I’ve read on other blogs make me smile, too, but in week 33, the words that made me smile the most were names. They were: Americans Anthony Sadler, Alek Skarlatos and Spencer Stone and British businessman Chris Norman–the heroes who laid their life on the line to stop a terrorist attack on the high-speed train from Belgium to Paris. This stood out like a beacon among the many, many depressing news as of late. And these people are hopefully not quickly forgotten. We don’t need Hollywood superheroes. There are some real ones out there.

You’re given $500,000 dollars tax free (any currency), what do you spend it on? 

I’d probably invest it in a Canadian business and finally get my behind over there.

What subject would you like to study in depth, if given the time to do so?

Writing, while writing. 🙂 That’s my passion at the moment and has been for some time. I want to learn about a lot of things, but in-depth– no time, no time… 🙂

Would your rather be stuck in a small plane with bad turbulence for 2 hours or be a passenger in a car racing the Daytona 500?

In a small plane any time. I love flying. I love flying in small planes. And I even like turbulences, they are exciting. I haven’t experienced the type where you feel sick yet, so if I had, my answer might be different.

And onwards to week #34:

Was school easy or difficult for you? How so?

It was easy, because I understood the concepts taught quickly, and did reasonably well in tests. It was difficult because I was awfully lazy and only did as much work as was strictly necessary, and at the last minute. I’d rather read some forbidden books, what can I say?

What is your favorite animal?

All of them, especially my pets. But I do have a special fondness for elephants and whales. And the big cats. And wolves. And…

If you had to have your vision corrected would you rather: glasses or contacts?

I was wearing glasses since I was twelve and always felt horrible and ugly. As a young adult I switched to contacts and loved it. But after years without problems, I got a pair that didn’t work for me, and as many times I would visit the eye-doctor (I know, there is a fancy word…) it just didn’t get better. So it was back to glasses. I tried again a few years later, similar result. I stuck to glasses ever since. Luckily there’s a wide variety to be had today. I’m shying away from laser surgery, I have bad eyesight and risking the little I have scares me too much.

List:  Name at least five television shows (past or present) you enjoyed?

I don’t have a tv and usually only watch shows people recommend, and then in one go when they are on dvd. These are usually old shows.

The X-Files, Star Trek, Space: Above and Beyond, Babylon V, Buffy, Angel, Stargate SG1 and Stargate Atlantis. One of these days I’ll get around to Dr. Who. –Edit: How could I forget Battlestar Galactica and Game of Thrones?  Although… not sure I still like GOT. I haven’t seen the last episodes yet, but what I’ve read… don’t like. I get attached to characters. I get very upset when the really good ones are killed off.

Here you have it. Thank you, Cee, for the interesting questions.

3 thoughts on “Again late: Share your World Weeks #33 and #34

  1. Wow, we have exactly the same taste in TV programmes! I did manage to forget to mention Battlestar Galactica (both the original and reboot) in my list! Game of Thrones is a bit of a shocker, isn’t it? Nobody’s safe 🙂

    “Forbidden books” huh? Intriguing…

    Like

    1. Heh, SciFi fans will find each other, I suppose.
      About the forbidden books: I was a young teen and not allowed to read books for grownups. So I read them when no one looked. And the trashy harlequin novels from my grandma, and the SciFi serial my dad read, and…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

