Share Your World Week #35

Just on time before the questions for Week 36 come, here are my answers to Cee Neuener’s Share Your World Week#35 questions.

What made you feel good this week?

This:

Syrian refugees arriving in Munich. (EPA)

After weeks of news about protests and attacks on refugee shelters, a heartfelt welcome and wanting to help is finally the answer of the majority of Germans. Yes, there will be problems. No, we can’t take them all. No, the disgraceful haters and terrorists who damage property and threaten refugees won’t go away over night, but they are–though dangerous–a minority. Most Germans will remember what it is like to be refugees. Almost everyone has someone in their families or among friends who were refugees at one time or another.  Besides, our population isn’t growing, and there are many older, and too few young people. Who’s going to look after us when we are old? Who is going to pay into the retirment fund? Who is going to do the work? The many Turkish, Greek, Italian, Spanish, Portugese, Polish, Russian… fromwherever people who came here to work and live have enriched our culture. It is a lot more fun to live here now than it was in my youth.

For potlucks or parties do you cook it yourself, buy from a grocery store, or pay for catering?

These days I seldom go, but when I go, I usually cook myself. I’m not the greatest cook, but I’m decent at baking, so I either bring home-made pizza snacks, or a quiche, or some cake for dessert.

What is your favorite part of the town/city you live in.  And what Country do you live?

I live in Germany. I basically live in two cities, in one from Monday to Thursday, that’s where I work, the other one Friday through Sunday, that’s where the family is. This is one of the reasons why I don’t have much time, I commute every week. Both cities have lovely places and corners with Nouveau Art buildings, parks and ornaments. These are my favourite parts of both cities.

Complete this sentence:  My favorite place in the whole world…..

is Vancouver Island.

Thank you, Cee, for another round of interesting questions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

