Friday Fictioneers: Call me Jasziu

I’m still far too busy to think straight. Sorry if I haven’t replied in time, or didn’t manage to read your story. I’m not sure my story this week qualifies for beginning, middle and end, it’s more of a middle… but it’s the best I can come up with right now. I love the picture, it is so peaceful.

The task for Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ Friday Fictioneers is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

jp3
Image © Jennifer Pendergast

Call me Jasziu

“So, Jasmine, how do you like your little boat?”

“You’re such a tease, Scott. I like it very much.”

“Excellent.”

“Your smile’s so smug… the interior decoration was your idea?”

“Yup.”

“These cedar dashboards–very smooth, excellent craftsmanship… it smells good, too. Mind you, it’ll be a pain to care for…”

“I knew you’d say that.”

“And the Ahimsa silk panels… touching them is pure delight. Your decor is a perfect tribute to Earth.”

“I’m glad you appreciate. So?”

“We accept. Now that my cyberlink-twin’s been installed, our spaceship shall adopt her name: the Ziusudra”

“Yes, Jasmine, Captain.”

“Call me Jasziu.”

(101 words)

Edit: I added a word, otherwise the Ahimsa gets too confusing. I’ve seen it used without the silk for silk, but apparently it has more uses. Ziusudra is the Sumerian predecessor of Noah. The flood myth is very similar although there are some differences (one god, Enlil, punishes humankind and creates the flood; the other one, Enki, helps by warning Ziusudra.)


6857879727_9428e915de_b Featured image: Spaceship by Lucas: https://flic.kr/p/bs1qHD.
Licensed under https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/
52 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Call me Jasziu

      1. until …she takes over her the story of her life from this author – however good he may be – she wants to be the sole author of her own fate and blunder her way through the planets 😉

        (May be we should try this for a challenge – each writing the next sentence and see where it takes us….)

        Liked by 1 person

            1. Heh. it can be very challenging. You want to write realistic fiction, author 2 wants to turn it into a fantasy, and author 3 introduces a very odd kind of romance… the more authors, the wilder, depending on rules or the absence of them. If some authors are too dominant, the others will soon drop out, so that can be a bit problematic…some general guidelines (for instance: length, no vampires/must have vampires, only pg13 sex scenes/nothing adult at all, keep it in this century and such can help (or not) 😉 ). I’ve read only one kind of round robin written by pro fantasy and scifi authors, Philip José Farmer’s The Dungeon series, and that is wonderful and weird, but also oddly unsatisfying. The different authors wrote one book of the series each, some wrote two, the author who wrote the first book also wrote the last one. If you get too attached to one plot thread and the characters–next book, they are turned around, disappear, and so on.
              I think for practice, and as a writing challenge, this can be great fun.

              Liked by 1 person

  1. Wow – this took me on a winding journey. Interesting!
    (Actually ended up at a farm in Leicester that produces slaughter free milk – Ahimsa milk! But that’s a story in itself. FF is always an education.)
    I’ve learned a lot about space from your stories and Mars in particular (eg blue sunsets!) My train station has an advert for the book The Martian – wonder if you’ll be reading it? I’m very tempted.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I abbreviated so many words… I should have added the ‘silk’ and put it up with 101 words. About The Martian: I’ve read it (upon rec. from one of our fellow fictioneers)–great read! You’d think with so much tech talk it’d get boring, but not so. It’s suspenseful from beginning to end, and a good manual for current Mars technology, too. I actually found a scientific article that deals with much of what is described in The Martian. And I’m happy to learn that you like my SciFi. I, too, learn as I go.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for adding in the word silk. I would have been clueless otherwise since I’m familiar with the meaning of the word ahimsa from yoga to be non-harming. Nice sci-if 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

