Friday Fictioneers: Love Of My Life

I pledgeWednesday, and another prompt from Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for the Friday Fictioneers showed up in my reader. I’m still having a lot of stress, and that makes me mushy.

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

david-stewart2
Image © David Stewart

Love Of My Life

Please come back to me!

This run-down place is my home now. I lost everything since you left: my job, the house, my luck… Still, you’ll remain the love of my life.

“I shall love you forever,” you said. “We can be together if you keep the secret. No one must know what I am.”

“How did you catch such a prize?” my friends asked on girls’ night out.

“Dumb luck,” I said.

“He’s so handsome, and so successful. Where did you find him? Spill!”

I took another sip from my drink.

“Tell you a secret,” I slurred. “He’s faerie.”

(100 words)


The title is, of course, from the Queen song :


Princessa_i_skogen_by_John_Bauer_1915Featured image: Princessa i skogen by John Bauer [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Princessa_i_skogen_by_John_Bauer_1915.jpg

68 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Love Of My Life

  1. Nice idea, especially to have the man as the fae. My only crit would be that, for me, the last line is a too much of a reveal – it sort of attempts to explain the story. I’d make it more subtle and leave readers guessing. See you next week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, and also for the crit, I like/need crit. I ususally like it a bit vague, too, but in this case, as you pointed out, I tried to do a reverse Melusin-type tale with the man as the one who leaves when the conditions are not fulfilled. I don’t know how I could have hinted at faeries without that last line…

      Like

    1. Thank you, Rochelle. I always wondered–with the female faeries who married mortals–why they even agreed to marry them, couldn’t have been love. The ‘never beat me’ of course is a good reason to leave, but in many tales it’s something less severe. I guess it’s all about the trust.

      Like

  2. Uh-oh, these faerie types are pretty serious about their agreements. Handsome, successful, a prize, the envy of your friends… and all you had to do to keep him was remember one rule: don’t spill his secret. That would have been a good reason to not to get drunk, oops!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great story! One glass of wine too many and her world comes crashing down.

    I agree, the last line is needed to show that she’s broken a promise to a faerie and now he’s left her, taking luck and love and everything with him.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dear Gahlearner,

    Typing this as I listen to Freddy Mercury sing Love of My Life. Thank you for both. Your story illuminates the peril of drink (a joke) and the terrible loss that lies on the other side of love. So well imagined and written. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The loss on the other side of love–that’s a phrase that could prompt many other stories. Because then love needs to be found on the other side of loss. A circle, like life is. Thanks for dropping by and your kind words.

      Like

  5. Maybe if she’d sprinkled salt on his tail he couldn’t have flown. Loose lips sink ships was the motto in WWII. Her inability to keep his information confidential speaks volumes.

    Like

  6. Never trust a woman with a secret! That’s my motto. Great story but at first I thought you cheated on the word count by saying “He’s faerie”. Then I realized if you had written “He’s a faerie” it would have the other connotation. Which could work, too, though! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, and your motto: let me wave my knitting needles threatening at you. 🙂 Most of the fairytales with that theme I’ve read were about the husbands not hitting the faerie-wife, btw. A promise the husbands didn’t keep.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. It seems there’s always a bargain to be kept with the magical folk. They’re very secretive, and I suppose for a reason. They don’t want their identity given away and lose their privacy. Good and well-written story, Gah. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh! This reminds me – in a modern day sense – of Psyche and Amore. A woman would do good to keep a fairie on her side:( She must have been really drunk of break her promise. Was she drinking absinthe?

    Nicely done.

    Ellespet

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

