Friday Fictioneers: And The Mouse Police Never Sleeps

I pledgeTime for the Friday Fictioneers with another prompt from Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

And now something completely different (for me). The title came to my mind right away, the music rings through my head now. The lyrics don’t really fit, but the title does.

mouse-on-the-prowl
Image © Marie Gail Stratford

And The Mouse Police Never Sleeps

There’s that mouse on your stylish desk: patterned with turquoise chevrons for crying out loud. The sight stops me in my tracks; I stumble over the bottle on the floor and crash-land, shards are cutting through my gloves. There’s blood. What now?

Your executive office has a bathroom… maybe, just maybe—yes, there: bleach, perfect. No eco-cleaner for you, of course not.

I soak the blood stain in bleach, damaging the floor. Who cares?

What’s the time? I gotta run, lose my cleanroom coverall. Disappear.

The door opens. The janitor sees your body on the floor, and my face.

Shit.

(100 words)


I’m having far too much fun revisiting old music favourites when I search for titles. This one comes from Jethro Tull. Enjoy.


Cleanroom_suitFeatured image: “Cleanroom suit” by Steve Jurvetson – http://www.flickr.com/photos/jurvetson/52583513/. Licensed under CC BY 2.0 via Commons – https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Cleanroom_suit.jpg#/media/File:Cleanroom_suit.jpg

83 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: And The Mouse Police Never Sleeps

    1. Just shows you how little I know about writing crime fiction. I was searching for the term of these forensic crime unit coveralls, the ones they wear to avoid contaminating a crime scene–just couldn’t find it. What are they called, do you know? My next murderer will wear a hazmat. 😉 Thank you, Nan.

      Like

    1. You have a chevron mouse, I now must murder you… that idea has possibilities, too. 😀 I started with the mouse sentence and just let it go where it wanted from there. Sometimes that works. Thank you, and for the interesting picture.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe, thank you. Commissions, hm? What do you need? I provide anything from The Beatles to Pink Floyd with the occasional visit of more modern stuff. I guess the naughty will be forgiven, rules must be broken when stories want to be told. I’ll have a look.

      Like

  1. Brilliant story, gahlearner!
    And this is too strange — I love that song too (I think you posted a song last week which was one of my favorites, as well!) You and I really do have some similar tastes! I love all the songs in that album.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You had me thinking it was the narrators blood on the floor and then with the arrival of the janitor the truth was revealed. I love a good murder mystery and JethroTull! I know the song but had never seen the video clip. Thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, I just wrote you a mail. 🙂
      It’s become a bit of a habit to look for songs for my story titles. I’m glad you liked it. Murder is a bit out of my comfort zone, I usually write SciFi or Fantasy, but that one just wanted to be written.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

