Friday Fictioneers: It Never Rains On Mars

I pledgeTime for the Friday Fictioneers with another prompt from Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

I’m so busy right now, I almost didn’t make it. But there’s always something to write about Mars, so I wrote the first thing that came to mind. I know there’s still time, but the next days will also be busy, and I want to read the other stories now.

rainy-night
Image © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

It Never Rains On Mars

Personal Log Jenna Carter

2037-288-00-15-35

Dear Mum,

It’s great that you can access my plog now. You’ll get a much better idea about life here than through the awkward, delayed, vid-calls.

You know, one of the things I miss on Mars is rain. Isn’t that silly?

I miss the sound, the smell, the humidity in the air–Mars is just so incredibly dry.

But, we have snow. And dust storms, dust is everywhere.

I’m not complaining. Terraforming goes well. Cyanobacteria and lichens grow merrily. Give or take a few decades (or centuries), there’ll be an atmosphere.

More tomorrow.

Love, Jenna

(100 words)


PIA16138_ipFeatured image: Observations by NASA’s Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter have detected carbon-dioxide snow clouds on Mars and evidence of carbon-dioxide snow falling to the surface.

Deposits of small particles of carbon-dioxide ice are formed by snowfall from carbon-dioxide clouds. This map shows the distribution of small-grain carbon-dioxide ice deposits formed by snowfall over the south polar cap of Mars. It is based on infrared measurements by the Mars Climate Sounder instrument on the Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter.

JPL, a division of the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, provided the Mars Climate Sounder instrument and manages the Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter Project for NASA’s Science Mission Directorate in Washington.

Image credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech

37 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: It Never Rains On Mars

  1. I would miss rain too – and a lot more besides.
    Wonder if you can make snowmartians with Martian snow?
    Will we get a plog post please?
    Think I like the line ‘there’s always something to write about Mars’ almost as much as the story!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So many interesting questions. 🙂 I have so many questions I need to answer when I want to write about Mars, that’s why I almost always could find one for the prompts. But I don’t want to bore the Fictioneers with endless Mars stories, so I try to do something different from time to time.
      There’s also water-ice snow on Mars. Combined with the dry ice… maybe it could make a snowmartian.
      And the plog post is an idea…
      Ah, and thank you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I live in Germany, but I’ve been in Canada for a few years and would love to live on Vancouver Island. I’ve been travelling around the Seattle area a bit, too, and just like the area.

          Like

Leave a Reply

