Friday Fictioneers: Magic Bus

I pledgeTime for the Friday Fictioneers with another prompt from Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

Last week was a week from hell, I didn’t get around to reading and reviewing many of my fellow fictioneers’ stories, sorry about that. This week, I hope, will be better.

This week is also the anniversary of our Fairy Blog Mother, Rochelle, who’s been managing the fun for three years now. I admire your patience, Rochelle, thank you for doing this every week. It has become something I’m looking forward to. And now, onwards…

copyright-ron-pruitt
Image © Ron Pruitt

Magic Bus

“Did you bring the brooms?” Abigail scanned the group of women who huddled together in a corner of the junk yard. They all nodded.

“OK then, let’s get on with it. Make bundles of five each and tie them to the tires… yes, like that. And another bundle at the exhaust pipe, perfect.”

When it was done, Abigail rummaged through her handbag, extracted her wand and tapped it lightly against the old, decommissioned school bus. The bus quivered, rose from the ground, then settled back softly.

“Hop in, ladies. No more freezing of our butts on the broomsticks. Let’s party.”

(100 words)

The title comes from The Who.


512px-Brooms_for_sale_in_TbilisiFeatured image: By Vladimer Shioshvili (it’s all about cleanliness) [CC BY-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

86 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Magic Bus

    1. Hehe, yes exactly. I was thinking about that, but I’m not fan-knowledgeable about BTF enough to write something. So at least it’s flying, even if it’s not very futuristic. Thank you.

      Like

  1. This is too weird. My bus rises into the air, too! (http://magicsurrealist2013.me/2015/10/22/jeffersons-big-day/)
    Well, great minds think alike. Or, perhaps, buses rising into the air are part of everyone’s fantasy! Who knows! (And Halloween is around the corner!)
    Really liked your narration and these lines:
    ‘The bus quivered, rose from the ground, then settled back softly.
    “Hop in, ladies. No more freezing of our butts on the broomsticks. Let’s party.”’
    Nicely done!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. To avoid confusion: this reply goes to Vijaya. Thank you, and yay to everything. 🙂 When I wrote it, it was also Back to the Future day, and flying cars were on my mind. I’m very glad you liked the story.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Amy. No, I neither knew Tortoro nor the Catbus (I don’t have kids and my lack of anime knowledge shows). I looked it up though, and it looks like a lot of fun, I got to check it out.

      Like

  2. Very enjoyable! I’m glad to hear that the witches are becoming more environmentally conscious and car-pooling (broom-pooling??) I just saw a new film production of ‘Macbeth’ yesterday and there wasn’t a broom (or a bus) in sight.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

