NaNoWriMo: I lost my mind, please send back when it flutters by…

Oh yes. I am crazy. I know it. Now you do, too…

Here I am, too busy to write a proper blog. Too busy to even read and comment on all the Friday Fictioneers’ entries in some weeks, and now I signed up for NaNoWriMo where I am supposed to come up with 50,000 words throughout the month of November. Crazy.

I’ve done it before. Under a different handle. I wrote my 50K words. I felt triumphant. I had written the fantasy novel of all fantasy novels, I was a genius. … — … (I even sent the thing to my beta reader who uttered some friendly sounds, cough, “you may have something there…”). To say it directly: that novel, back then in 2011, was total and complete crap. I haven’t looked at it once ever since.

And now I want to do it again. With the idea that’s been running around in my head for over a year now. Should I not be afraid that I’m going to ruin my idea by producing another 50K of unspeakable nonsense? Yes, maybe. But this time things are different. Apart from a pretty good idea, I actually have an outline, something I didn’t have in 2011. I know the last sentence, which is important for me, because that way I know where I’m going. I have conflict, maybe even too much. I have characters, and scenes appear in my mind, ready to be written down. I just have to sit down and actually write it. Which I don’t do, because I am busy. But with NaNoWriMo, I’m going to kick myself, and then I’ll write. As well as I can…

Friday Fictioneers helped me with fleshing my ideas out. While I didn’t post much about the actual story, I often wrote short snippets about the back story. I know where my fictional world comes from, I know where I want it to go. The rest is up to the muse.

Last time around I didn’t connect with anyone on the forums or in writing groups. I don’t have much time for forums. I know though that several fictioneers participate. Wanna hang out? I’m gah_learner on the NaNoWriMo site…

And: I plan to still do the weekly Friday Fictioneer story. Should be do-able. I’ll be completely insane by the end of the month, but I bet I’m going to have fun. Writing like mad and surprising myself with what the muse came up with while I didn’t look is one of the best things about writing. It’s the writing magic… Onwards.

11 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: I lost my mind, please send back when it flutters by…

  1. Well my friend… looks like you are not the only crazy one…. I signed up too! I kept my handle ridiculously easy… I’m dalerog… yep… my own friggen name. I shall be adding you to my buddy list!

    I’ll add you too, Tracey\

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope you have a ton of fun! … 50,000 words, wow! I think that would totally stress me out. I’ll stick to photos and sprinkle in a few words here and there… and try to turn the words into shapes 🙂
    Will your nanowrimo writing be posted here as well?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Maybe sometime in the future, if it turns out halfway decent. Nanowrimo is mostly to really hack the words out, editing comes later. I’ve written a lot yesterday, and although it’s not the worst I’ve ever written, I am already aware of where heavy editing will be needed. But that comes later, if I can still see it after it’s over. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

