Friday Fictioneers: Shoe Faerie – C

I pledgeTime for the Friday Fictioneers with another prompt from our Fairy Blog Mother, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

This week in action again: the Friday Fictioneers Concrit Subgroup.
I’m wondering if the present tense works here, I don’t use it often.

ce-grate
Image © C.E. Ayr

 Shoe Faerie

There is a lonely shoe in the gutter. Linda picks it up, wipes the dirt off, and longingly strokes the supple leather.

“Don’t put me on,” the shoe whispers.

“Hey, Fatty. What’s that?”

Sheila! Boy-magnet, tormentor, archenemy. Sheila snatches the shoe from Linda, puts it on, and prances around.

POOF!

Sheila vanishes, a faerie appears, and in the gutter lies an old boot.

“You rescued me,” the faerie says. “As a reward, you can have this shoe filled with gold every day, or be my friend, and come with me.”

Linda beams. “I don’t need gold, I’ll go with you.”


 

718px-SophieAndersonTakethefairfaceofWomanFeatured Image: “SophieAndersonTakethefairfaceofWoman” by Sophie Gengembre Anderson – Art Renewal Center – description. Licensed under Public Domain via Commons – https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:SophieAndersonTakethefairfaceofWoman.jpg#/media/File:SophieAndersonTakethefairfaceofWoman.jpg

60 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Shoe Faerie – C

      1. Wasn’t sure if I would take the gold or follow the faerie, gave me food for thought. Take the gold … looks greedy, follow the faerie … believing in the unreal (no offence intended). Keep silent … appear wise. Clearly I have over thought this haven’t I, LOL. So interesting because it made me think.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. LOL–I didn’t expect this to become such a question with the readers, I just wrote it to take you all along on a little fairy tale trip, away from terror and sadness. It’s fun to see the different choices though.

          Liked by 1 person

  1. I loved the line, “Hey, Fatty, what’s that?” That told me a lot about Sheila. I think if you took the gold, sooner or later Donald Trump would find out about it and want you for a running mate. I like the whimsical faerie option.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Of course you take the faerie, you’re in a Fairy Tale!
    If you were in California in 1849, your answer would probably be different
    I liked this, it was fun.
    But I suspect the faerie would prefer Sheila’s company!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

