Friday Fictioneers: Kaloakulua, Albatross -C

I pledgeTime for the Friday Fictioneers with another prompt from our Fairy Blog Mother, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

This week in action again: the Friday Fictioneers Concrit Subgroup.
I’ve been lagging behind with comments last week, sorry about that. Work is demanding, and NaNoWriMo is, too. But that will be the topic of another post, next week.

And now, something completely different (for me).

sandra
Image © Sandra Crook

Kaloakulua, Albatross

She has been waiting long enough.

The scream for freedom in her blood is deafening: it vibrates through her body, heats her blood, pounds in her ears. Nothing else is important.

She gets up and stretches. She feels strong and alive; she is perfect.

The cliff’s edge looks inviting. The wind is strong, it shakes her up, and for a moment she has doubts. But then she spreads her wings and jumps.

The wind is her enemy. She fights it, but soon she learns to use her wings. The wind is her friend.

She flies. She soars. She is free.


This is realistic fiction, because: http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2014/06/140628-laysan-albatross-nest-video-seabird-plastic-ocean-science/

And here is some relaxing music: Albatross by Fleetwood Mac


 

1200px-Laysan_Albatross_RWD5Featured Image: “Laysan Albatross RWD5” by DickDaniels (http://carolinabirds.org/) – Own work. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Commons – https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Laysan_Albatross_RWD5.jpg#/media/File:Laysan_Albatross_RWD5.jpg

62 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Kaloakulua, Albatross -C

  1. Really nicely written from a bird’s point of view. C – perhaps if you hadn’t used ‘Albatross’ in your title, we might have been slightly surprised by the face that it was a bird. I don’t know – maybe that doesn’t matter at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You caught my problem. I was only using the name as a title, and after I had edited, and finished the draft, it dawned on me that the term bird never showed up anywhere. I didn’t think everyone would want to follow my link and read up about the young albatross… and that made me insecure. I thought that a suicide interpretation was possible, and wanted to avoid that. I’m glad to see that the original title would have been better. I might haveover-thought the whole thing. Thank you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I was flying in my mind when I wrote it. I’m glad that feeling came through. About the title, yes, that was a moment of insecurity. I wanted to avoid suicide interpretations… but I guess I should just trust the readers. 🙂 Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Björn. I was thinking of Jonathan when I changed the title. I originally just had the name, but then I got a bit insecure, because a bird was never mentioned. And I didn’t want to have it associated with suicide. Next time I’ll be braver. 😉

      Like

  2. Long time since I heard that piece of music. Uplifting story – no pun intended! We have falcons on top of our local tower block – and instructions next to our train station telling us what to do if we spot a chick on the pavement. How much more lovely to launch out over the ocean! Beautiful tale.

    Liked by 1 person

        1. The moment they mentioned Fleetwood Mac, I couldn’t stop laughing. And I love the NZ accent, brings back fond memories. Thanks for that, to you and your daughter. 😀 Rumours. No, it’s all true… hehehhehe….

          Like

  3. This was beautifully told, and I loved the music – I haven’t listened to that piece for such a long time. It’s lovely. Thank you also for the information on the hatching of Kaloakulua. Fascinating. Actually we’ve just been watching a pair of plovers hatch three chicks in our back yard. Not as dramatic as an albatross, but still good fun. Now we’re crossing our fingers that the chicks won’t get skittled as they run back and forth across our quite busy street.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Margaret. It doesn’t matter which birds/wild animals we watch, as soon as we get close, it gets personal, doesn’t it? We’ve had nesting blackbirds and barn swallows on our balcony once–until a magpie family went on a raid… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

