Friday Fictioneers: Phantom – C

I pledgeQuiet days and finally I can play with the Friday Fictioneers again.  Here’s another prompt from our Santa-in-Charge, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

This week in action again: the Friday Fictioneers Concrit Subgroup.

copyright-scott-l-vannatter
Image © Scott L. Vannatter

Phantom

It should have been our last Christmas together.

Typically, you couldn’t wait. You moved on, passed away, died. I’m left behind. Alone. But not for long…

I put the pills on the table when I see this imaginary cat. It can’t be real, can it? There’s no way in. Is she my guide? She looks like our long-dead Blacky.

But Blacky never was so thin. The cat eats turkey, and now she purrs, curled in my lap. She’s real, all right. I dump the pills.

There’ll be vet appointments to think of, cat food, litter boxes.
I’ll call her Phantom.

(100 words)


JaguarFeatured image: “Jaguar” by en:User:Cburnett – Own work. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Commons – https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Jaguar.jpg#/media/File:Jaguar.jpg — These black cats are sometimes called phantom cats.

31 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Phantom – C

  1. Nice story! I like the little black kitty! The Aztecs and Mayans used to fed them their human sacrifices after they were done with that ripping the heart out thing. Last time I went to Cancun, one of the tours to Coba talked about seeing an occasional jaguar but they are spotted.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

