Friday Fictioneers: Let The Sunshine In – C

I pledgeDepending on when you read this, this will be the last of Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ Friday Fictioneers of 2015, or the first of 2016.

In any case, Happy New Year to you all.

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

This week in action again: the Friday Fictioneers Concrit Subgroup.

coffee_in_mirror_02-1
Image © Jean L. Hays

Let The Sunshine In

My magic has almost destroyed this world. I’ve been more powerful than anyone else: I harnessed the sun.

I was magic incarnate. I shone. Until Kat and her children died. Then, guilt washed over me like a tsunami. If only I’d drowned in that flood.

I didn’t. I’m sorry. There is nothing I can do to make things right again.

But I can bring the smiles back. One drop of the golden potion in each cup of coffee brings a smile to your faces, a long moment of happiness. You all need that now. My Sunshine Café is open for you.

(100 words)

The title is from the musical ‘Hair’, performed by The Fifth Dimension.


 

Rays_of_SunshineFeatured Image: By Gnumarcoo (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0) or GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

28 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Let The Sunshine In – C

    1. LOL about the juju. If you find a metaphor in my stories, it sneaked in, I’m far too simple to use them consciously. 😉 Sending some sunshine over now. Thank you and Happy New Year.

      Like

  1. I love the poetry and the magic surrealism of this story. My read on it was that the death of Kat was not this person’s fault but they could have prevented it and that there is a whole other story back there. Probably it resonated with me like that in part because Kat is such a magical name and also the line near the end about how everyone needs a smile now – suggesting that Kat and “her children” is a larger than life figure whose death hit everyone. Some kind of magical battle. I really liked this one. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your lovely review. It could be any of this, I just visualized someone very powerful not thinking about consequences of their actions. Kat could have tried to stop the narrator–or just have been someone dear to him/her (I’m not even decided on the gender). I’m glad you had fun with the story. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This narrator has had to learn – the hard way – how to use power. Sometimes those who have so much (magical or otherwise) never learn, and we all know about the chaos and destruction they cause. I love how your story shows the contrast, pivoting around the terrible loss of someone I guess was dear to the narrator. What a beautiful way he’s chosen to use his power now – humble, gentle and life affirming.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your lovely comment, Margaret. I see the narrator somewhat like many real-life influential people: being all excited about what’s do-able and forgetting about the consequences. We need more sunshine potion. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Maybe I’m being too metaphorical, but we have just started naming storms here in the UK having resisted this personification for years – storm Frank (!) has been battering and flooding Scotland into the new year. Kat did remind me of hurricane Katrina – perhaps she deserved to be dissipated!! As I say I could be completely barking up the wrong tree/ just plain barking.
    Happy New Year!
    Let the sunshine in. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. If this was in the 70’s, I think I’d skip the sunshine. There were a number of things putting smiles on people’s faces back then, none of which I ever sampled. It makes a good story, though. I feel sorry for anyone who’s hurting and feels that guilty. Well done and thanks for the music. Happy New Year to you and yours, Gah. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

