Share Your World Week 1

041514-sywbannerLast year, I participated more or less regularly in Cee Neuner’s Share Your World challenge, but lost track, became too busy, and eventually stopped posting. I’m giving it a new go this year, and maybe I can keep it going for a whole year. So here we go: Share Your World Week 1

As a child, who was your favorite relative?

My favourite relative was my Uncle Franz. He was one of my father’s older brothers and was a pure joy to be around. He was funny and strict, had a booming voice, loved to laugh and lost a leg in WWII. His artificial leg was endlessly fascinating to me when I was a child.

I still can see his twinkling eyes and happy grin when he turned his dinner plate upside down to eat his dessert from the backside. My aunt used to roll her eyes and complain, but no one took her too seriously. When he was angry, he could lecture you in a way that you’d think the world would end. But everyone always knew that after the scolding was done, everything would be forgiven and we could laugh together again. Sadly, he died much too early.

If you could be a tree or plant, what would you be?

I would be an aspen tree. They have the loveliest golden colour in fall, and they grow clones. I imagine myself and the little clone saplings swaying in the wind of a Canadian forest and hope for the beavers to stay away.

What would be your preference, awake before dawn or awake before noon?

Definitely awake before noon (if I can make it). I’m a night owl, I love to stay up late, and love to sleep in. Alas, these people at work expect me to show up at 9:oo…

Would you like to sleep in a human size nest in a tree or be snuggled in a burrowed spot underground?

I love to be up in trees (if I can climb them, which is a big if) but I’d prefer to sleep in a burrow underground, if there is an alternative escape tunnel. I’d feel too vulnerable in a tree, they can be cut down, or burnt…


 

SnowbowlaspensFeatured Imagge: “Snowbowlaspens”. Licensed under Public Domain via Wikipedia – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Snowbowlaspens.jpg#/media/File:Snowbowlaspens.jpg

9 thoughts on “Share Your World Week 1

    1. I know what you mean. There are many other things that would interest me, but I don’t have much time. But this Share Your World is a nice way to get a bit more personal. It’s easier to answer these questions than to just write about myself, that makes me uncomfortable. This, and the Friday Fictioneers, is about all I can handle because I also want to read other people’s entries and comments, and that takes up a lot of time.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

