Friday Fictioneers: Jet Airliner – C

I pledgeThe year marches on and it is time again for our Fairy Blog Mother, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ Friday Fictioneers.

The last few weeks have been quiet, and busy. I haven’t been online much and was horribly lazy and bad with reviews. I enjoyed the time off, but there is always this guilty little nagging at the back of my head. I’ll do better this week.

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

This week in action again: the Friday Fictioneers Concrit Subgroup. I’d need a closer look at my tenses. Not sure if I did it quite right here.

melanie-greenwood
Image © Melanie Greenwood

Jet Airliner

When we walked onto the airfield, my jaw dropped.
“We’re going to take a jet plane?”
“Sure, why not?” Finn said. “Got a problem with that?”
“No, but… You said you’re a sorcerer. I looked forward to something more, uh, wizardly.”
He laughed. “Believe me, this is much better than flying on a dragon or in a suitcase. It’s got a perfect design for air travel and uses less of my power than other vehicles. Now, do you want to find the Crystal of Truth or not?”
“Of course,” I conceded. Somehow that magical universe wasn’t quite what I’d expected.

(100 words)

The title comes from the Steve Miller Band. Otherwise, the song has nothing to do with the story. I like to link songs to my titles, because I’m having so much fun digging up my old favourites.


MagicPlane-LP-FP-HeroFeatured image: WestJet magic plane: https://www.westjet.com/guest/en/about/magic-plane.shtml — I’m not in any way affiliated with WesJet, I know nothing good or bad about them. I liked the picture, and they allow non-commercial usage.

45 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Jet Airliner – C

    1. Thank you. That’s a great quote, isn’t it? And very true. If there was something like magic, it would have to have some rules, some source of power–just like technology.

      Like

  1. C – I always admire how people can draw the whole narrative from a dialogue. There is humor in the wizardly search for comfort and that I like a lot. If there is anything I would like it’s to put a little bit color to the first sentence… giving the airplane some meaning.. was it rusty, shining..? But that’s just details. Great work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Björn. It is good to remind me of that, it’s something I forget to do all too often in my urge to get my plot working. I’m not going to change it here (wordcount), but I’ll try to keep it in mind for next time. I admire the way many people can set a scene seemingly without effort.

      Like

  2. “You said you’re a sorcerer. I looked forward to something more, uh, wizardly.” Love this line. After being such a Harry Potter fan, I can just imagine the disappointment of a muggle, expecting something magical and then finding the mundane. Although a private jet wouldn’t be exactly mundane! I can definitely feel the disappointment here…….and in the word choice “conceded”.
    Enjoyed this one!

    Like

  3. Maybe he’s saving the magic for later when he really needs to dip into his power. 🙂 Fun story, Gah! I love this Steve Miller song and your new blog look. Ah, I see we have the same theme. I like your look better!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked the story, thank you, Amy. Do we have the same theme? I liked your new layout right from the start and wanted something similar, but I didn’t consciously look up your theme, LOL. There we go. I like the huge featured images on the posts, and I have to have one side bar. You have that amazing meremaid as a header, I love that.

      Like

      1. Yes, we do have the same theme. LOL. That’s funny how they can look so different. Thanks for the mermaid boost! Every now and then, I think I need something more proper, but truly, people probably don’t care one whiff and it’s hard to lose her! Thanks for telling me your thoughts.

        Like

  4. I like a practical sorcerer! He’s right. I don’t think a dragon or a suitcase is very comfy. I like the image of the Westjet magic plane. I’ve never gone Westjet though it is Canadian.

    Lily

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

