Friday Fictioneers: Fading in Music – C

I pledgeAnother week, and  another prompt for the Friday Fictioneers graciously provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The task is to write a story: beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words or less. You can find all the Fictioneers’ stories when you click on the Froggy. Please read, comment, and if you like, join the fun. Everyone is welcome.

This week in action again: the Friday Fictioneers Concrit Subgroup.

hh-spinet
Image © Jan W. Fields

Fading in Music

A spinet virginal, it comes with the house.
“Old owners tried to sell it, but never managed,” the realtor tells me.
I couldn’t tell a harpsichord from a pianoforte, but it is beautiful. I like old things. I’ll keep it.
My first night here I hear a whispered, “Thank you!” and think I see a shadow right beside the instrument. The house is filled with music but I’m not playing–I don’t know who does. There’s no one in the room.
“I played here for my love before she died,” the voice whispers. “Now I shall play for you alone.”

(100 words)

To get in the mood, here’s some music : The Queenes Alman-William Byrd on virginal, played by Ernst Stolz.

The title had to go with the times of the music, too. The line comes from Shakespeare’s Merchant of Venice,


Jan_Vermeer_van_Delft_014Featured image: “Jan Vermeer van Delft 014” by Johannes Vermeer – http://www.royalcollection.org.uk : Home : Info. Licensed under Public Domain via Commons – https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Jan_Vermeer_van_Delft_014.jpg#/media/File:Jan_Vermeer_van_Delft_014.jpg

62 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Fading in Music – C

    1. Thank you, Claire. One of the many troubles I have with writing is: too many and twisted plot ideas. I was thinking of this, and of that, it could be comedy, romance, or horror… I had a few of her thoughts in there, but they had to be short and didn’t really bring much to the story, so I left them out in the end. The word count limitations are fun that way, I enjoy the readers’ different views.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Beautfiul! Hauntingly beautiful! I played off the antique instrument also…imaging that Beethoven had played it and comes into the body of a young homeless man who sits at keyboard. I love your take here. It is magical!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I felt this mostly very lovely… imagine to have your own lovely music played.. a benign lovely ghost.

    C – I could feel some of what the narrator felt, but most of it was me as a reader (and I felt exactly what I wrote before). If there would be some way to present it … maybe through the dialogue (but you know dialogue is not my strong point). I think that your own hesitation of making it into a love story or ghost story shows… and that is not necessarily a bad thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Björn. I had sentences there about how the narrator thinks… and cut them all out. I put a few tiny hints in to show where this could go, but I guess they were too vague and I cut too much. I always try to stuff too much into a story…

      Like

  3. A ghost is a ghost is a ghost. Maybe it’s loving and grateful and harmless now, but I don’t feel that she shoud relax too much. Lots of suggestiveness in your story, Gah. I really like the mood. I think what you’ve included is perfect – although I share your frustration with having complex ideas and having to cut out bits you really like.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A little creepy, but in a comforting sort of way, assuming she’ll like the music. The ghost appears to be thankful, so I suppose it will be a good arrangement. It would be funny if your character didn’t like what the spirit chose to play. Thanks for the video. It’s nice to put sound with the instrument. It’s so pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Reminds me a little of Truly Madly Deeply (with the late Alan Rickman) where the house fills with a whole orchestra of ghostly musicians. I always think ghost stories need to be either entirely terrifying, OR go in an entirely different direction like yours.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You caught me. 🙂 I was (am) saddened by his death and while my first thought with the picture was ‘ghost story’, TMD sneaked in. Which has its creepy elements. Lovely film, I’m going to rewatch it sometimes soon. I’m glad you enjoyed the story, thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Nice ghost story and timely for me! I have been quite busy downsizing my mom, selling her house, and moving her into an apartment. The task included giving away her piano. For a while it sadly looked like it would be going to the dump, but finally a family with young twins took it. The dad plays a number of instruments and both he and his wife want their kids to grow up with all sorts of musucal instruments available to them. My mom was very happy the piano found a good home and wouldn’t be haunting the dump 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. While it was spooky, it wasn’t creepy — I loved this gentle, romantic story! And I liked that you mentioned that it was a spinet virginal. I wondered whether to go with spinet or harpischord, but settled on piano in my story.
    Great story!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know anything about music or instruments, but the descriptions I’ve found, with the short keyboard and the keys on the left side, and the coffin-like shape–pointed to the virginal. But you could tell me anything in that regard and I’d believe it. 😉 I’m glad you liked the story, thank you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

