Share Your World Week 4

041514-sywbannerWhere does the time go, we’re in week 4 already. So, without further ado, here is Cee’s: Share Your World Week 4

Thank you, Cee, for another round of interesting questions. Here we go:

What one thing are you really glad you did yesterday?

I’m really glad I beat my inner sloth last night and did my (very easy, non-twisty) Yoga exercises. This showed me how stiff I’ve become by being far too lazy as of late. Since I know from experience that only a few weeks of regular practice will make a huge difference, I’m determined to keep it up. I need to lose weight and hate sports, but my trusted, well known Yoga exercises I can do at home, no one sees me, and after a short while it begins to feel really good. There, I said it, now I have to stick to it. 😉

Are you generally focused on today or tomorrow?

On both, actually. I’m a very focused person, I can enjoy the moment (especially with my dog, they are masters at that), I can focus on a task, but I also think and plan ahead a lot and speculate.

Would you want to have as a guardian angel/mentor? What would they tell you right now?

In a spiritual sense, no. Just the idea of constantly having someone look over my shoulder freaks me out. Besides, my philosophy of living a good life is to work important things out for myself. In a non-spiritual way I find mentoring a great thing when learning new skills or confronting new situations. Good teachers often are good mentors.

640px-Bird_in_flight_wings_spread
Common Gull By Bengt Nyman – originally posted to Flickr as IMG_5300-1, CC BY 2.0, $3

Would you rather live in a cave house or a dome house made out of glass?

A dome house would give the illusion of being out in the open, of freedom. But there’s all the birds who’d fly into such a structure if it isn’t properly built. So, I’d prefer the cave home–maybe with a sophisticated living room/studio dome that’s built in a way to prevent the birds from flying into it.


Featured image: pixabay

13 thoughts on “Share Your World Week 4

  1. I “third” the vote for cave house. A dome house is too much like those modern homes with big glass walls everywhere — even in the bedrooms and bathrooms,huh? I would feel too exposed. Besides, underground homes are easier to heat and cool, more environmentally friendly!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, the exposure would be… creepy. A winter garden or little greenhouse attached to a house, that’s what I’d like. I’m with you with the heating and cooling, but I learned that modern glass buildings can be built very environmentally friendly. Like the Hearst tower in Manhattan which sounds amazing. It’s a fascinating topic. Thank you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. You’d need to clear that with your doctor, and maybe have someone knowledgeable help and supervise in the beginning. You can hurt yourself badly with Yoga, too, and depening on your health, you’d have to leave out some exercises (like upside down poses with high blood pressure or such). I’m not an expert and would never recommend to anyone to just do it. But I’ve done this kind of Yoga since I was sixteen and I always managed to get back aches and other minor aches and pains go away with it and keep myself reasonably flexible. Yoga goes in and out of fashion all the time, but back then there was a woman on TV, Kareen Zebroff, who also wrote a book (she’s written a lot by now), and she mentioned nutrition, meditation and spirituality in her introduction, but focussed on the exercises and their health benefits in the main part. I used that book, it gave detailed descriptions how to do it right and how to do it wrong, and I was always happy with it. She also pointed out that you’re not in a competition with anyone, you go as far as you can and stop before it gets painful, which is the right approach for me, I’m not competitive. And over time, things get better. I’ll never in my life manage the lotus posture, but I don’t care. For me this is ideal, it helped my SO when he had a phase where he had trouble sleeping. There are also a lot of standing positions. For myself I’ve chosen exercises that gently stretch and affect every part of the body, it takes about twenty minutes, I start with standing, then kneel, then lie on the back and the stomach, then kneel again, and in the end stand again. If you chose to do this, you could start standing, then sit, and then lie down. That way you only have to get up once. That was long… sorry. 😀

      Like

  2. There is nothing like yoga to let you know you need to stretch yourself! I agree with what you said in the comments. I also started yoga when I was 15 or 16 – it was offered at my high school. Since then I have been doing it off and on again. I hate the trend it’s become, but if don’t right, with modifications and listening to your body, it is truly wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t mind the trends so much, but these days I seldom feel compelled to follow them, rather the contrary which may be silly and stubborn on my part. If someone discovers a good thing through it, all hail to them.
      I’m amazed again and again how well it works without pain and stiff muscles. I’ve been at it for three days now and already feel a difference.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

