Share Your World 2016 – Week 6

041514-sywbannerWhere I live, week 6 greets us with storms and heavy rainfall, cancelled carnival parades and the culmination of the carnival season. In the south-western part of Germany, witches and demons are predominant in the parades. The masks are handcrafted, the costumes hand-sewn. It’s an interesting and fun tradition.
In other parts of the country, costumes are less traditional; the parades contain large wagons that make fun of important political events of the past year, both, local and global politics being mocked irreverently.

But on Ash Wednesday it’s all over (except for the city of Basel where they have another event early in the morning.) In any case, this week always stands out and makes the drab late-winter days more colourful.

A colourful highlight every week in the blogosphere is Cee’s Share Your World challenge . How’s that for an introduction? Here we go:

  1. What is your favorite word?
    Content-wise: solidarity; sound-wise: discombobulation
  2. What is your least favorite word?
    LΓΌgenpresse“, a German word beloved and instrumentalized by the fascists, racists and demagogues who become far too popular at the moment.Β  It translates as ‘lying press’, and is always used defamatory.
  3. What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
    Creatively: a random phrase, picture, scene that lets another idea pop up in my head, and then I go from there. I love that process. Emotionally: injustice really gets me going. Spiritually: Nature, the universe, the big mystery of it all.
  4. What turns you off?
    Extremism
  5. What is your favorite curse word?
    In German: Mist! In English: Damn!
  6. What sound or noise do you love?
    My cat purring. Waves lapping against the shore. Bird song.
  7. What sound or noise do you hate?
    Crowds of fanatical people cheering their figurehead on. Fingernails scraping over a blackboard, a fork screeching on a dinner plate, everything too loud and too shrill.
  8. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
    I initially wanted to be a vet. If I had another fifty years of relative youth and reasonable health ahead of me, that’s what I’d do.
  9. What profession would you not like to do?Answer_to_Life
    Anything to do with cleaning.
  10. If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?
    You will now get the answer to the Ultimate question of Life, the Universe, and Everything.

Thank you, Cee, for these interesting and fun questions.


Rottweil - Fassnacht 2007

Featured image: Masken der Rottweiler Fasnet 2007 von Guido Radig – Eigenes Werk, CC BY 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=22093977

42 image: By Originally uploaded by en:User:Martinultima – en:Image:Answer to Life.png, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=100406

20 thoughts on “Share Your World 2016 – Week 6

  1. I hope you were able to enjoy carnival. The only place I know of in America that has parades for Carnival is New Orleans. I have never been, but it seems marvelous fun.
    What is 42? I don’t get it, am I missing something?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not much into carnival these days, maybe see a parade, but nothing more.
      42 is the answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, the Universe and Everything… it’s from the Hitchhiker’s guide to the galaxy by Douglas Adams. If you haven’t read that yet, do. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree. Wonderful answers, and I enjoyed the introduction too. Where I live in New York State Mardi Gras celebrations are rare. In some US cities they are more common. I have never been to one. The celebrations in New Orleans would be the ones to see! It’s a real spectacular throughout the city!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Thank you, Terry. New Orleans sounds interesing, I’ve heard about it. We don’t have much Halloween here, although shops try to get the commerce going, but there aren’t many kids going tricking and treating. We don the funny costumes at carnival. I loved Halloween when I was in Canada.

        Like

        1. I believe Mardi Gras in New Orleans is about spectacular costumes (feathers, sequins, beads and bright colors), whether they are devilish alter egos or not, and crazy, gone-wild partying before the austerities of lent.
          Halloween here in the US seems to me to be mostly about the costumes which range from really ghoulish to super cute. I don’t get many kids trick-or-treating at my house either, but I’m always prepared with candy and jack-o-lanterns to welcome any who might wander to my door. I really enjoy the cute little ones πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

